Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies Resources
Finding Scholarly Sources
You may have heard the terms "scholarly article" or "academic article." They both refer to types of scholarly sources, or scholarship. Scholarship is how scholars, like your course instructors, document their studies and share the conclusions of their work.
Scholarship typically seeks to address a specific problem or question with the goal of adding new understanding to the subject.
Scholarly sources are important to use in academic work because they undergo a rigorous process called peer review as part of the publishing process. Watch the video below to learn more about peer review.
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Databases
These resources contain scholarship within the field of women's, gender, and sexuality studies. Search these when seeking focused and specific information.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
- Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting service for research in the following areas of womens' studies: education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism, and historical studies.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Interdisciplinary Perspectives
The following databases contain research on many topics within specific fields of study. Depending on the topic of your research, they will be helpful to find scholarship from those disciplines. The ones listed below are just a few suggestions; there are many other disciplinary databases you can access through UH Libraries.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is maintained by the American Psychological Association’s (APA). It is the primary resource for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields.