Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies Resources
LBGTQIA+ Articles and Journals
Subject journals are publications that allow scholars to share their research with their peers. Sometimes, these are peer-reviewed, which means other scholars have read and edited the article before it's published. If you know the name of the journal(s) you want to find, navigate to the UH Libraries homepage then click on the Journal titles link beneath the search bar. If you just want to browse, you can put in keywords such as gay, transgender, gender, etc., to find journals related to those topics.
Databases with LGBTQIA+ Articles and Journals
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowA resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
- Social Sciences Databases (ProQuest Only) This link opens in a new windowOnline access to 2 ProQuest social sciences databases: Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowArticles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
- APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycBooks contains more than 25,000 chapters in PDF format from over 1,600 books published by the American Psychological Association and other distinguished publishers. It also includes over 900 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
- Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents. Author-submitted content is downloadable at no charge by users world-wide.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the core social work and human services literature, providing indexing and abstracts for >450 journals. The database is updated rather slowly - use SocIndex with Full Text for the most current research.
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowClick on the link to access all ABC-CLIO databases.
