Music Resources

Manuscript Databases

RISM Online Database
A vast collection of musical sources, freely searchable among 700,000 entries that contain mostly historical music manuscripts (the majority originated before 1800)
The Ferrell-Vogüé Machaut Manuscript
A manuscript of the medieval composer Guillaume de Machaut is brought to you by the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music. Considered one of the most elusive of all of the great illuminated Medieval manuscripts, the Ferrell-Vogüé Manuscript consists of nearly four hundred folios of Machaut manuscripts, brilliantly illuminated with paintings and poetry.
The Julliard Manuscript Collection
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.

Major Research Libraries

Music Libraries & Collections

Crouch Fine Arts Library The Crouch Fine Arts Library (CFAL) houses the music and visual arts collections as well as audio and video collections for the Central Libraries. Recognized as one of the most distinguished music libraries in the Southwest, the CFAL boasts a collection of approximately 75,000 audio and video recordings; 95,000 music scores; and 50,000 books on the arts. CFAL's special collections include rare and unique materials dating from as early as the 11th century.
Hamon Arts Library The Hamon Library’s circulating and reference collections contain more than 180,000 items relating to the visual and performing arts. In addition, the Library has some 300 subscriptions to arts periodicals and provides access to more than 40 online resources that are specific to the arts.
University of North Texas Music Library
University of Texas Fine Arts Library The Fine Arts Library (FAL), a unit of The University of Texas Libraries, opened July 16, 1979. Its collections support research and instruction in the College of Fine Arts, which includes the Butler School of Music, and the Departments of Art and Art History, the Center for Arts and Entertainment Technologies and the Department of Theatre and Dance. The FAL serves these units of the College of Fine Arts through its collections including books, scores, periodicals, audio and visual recordings, and through the Foundry, a maker space open to all on campus.
Library of Congress The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts houses one of the world's most extensive combinations of circulating, reference, and rare archival collections in its field. These materials are available free of charge, along with a wide range of special programs, including exhibitions, seminars, and performances. An essential resource for everyone with an interest in the arts—whether professional or amateur—the Library is known particularly for its prodigious collections of non-book materials such as historic recordings, videotapes, autograph manuscripts, correspondence, sheet music, stage designs, press clippings, programs, posters and photographs.
Indiana University Cook Music Library The William and Gayle Cook Music Library at Indiana University, recognized as one of the largest academic music libraries in the world, serves the world-renowned Jacobs School of Music and the Bloomington Campus of Indiana University. Its librarians and staff also support the graduate students enrolled in the nationally recognized Master of Library Science with Music Specialization program.
Sibley Music Library - Eastman School of Music With holdings of nearly three-quarters of a million items, the Sibley Music Library is recognized as one of the world’s preeminent research libraries devoted to all aspects of the study of music. Materials are assigned either to the circulating collections or to the Ruth T. Watanabe Special Collections, which includes rare books, archival collections, the Eastman School of Music Archives, and the Eastman Audio Archive.
New Music Online Library The Online Library is a searchable database that provides on-demand access to digital scores, sound files and biographical information on composers. Launched in 2001, the Online Library now contains data on more than 57,000 works (including 14,000 media files) by 5,600 composers. In addition to works uploaded by users the Online Library includes data from Boosey & Hawkes, Carl Fischer, C.F. Peters, G. Schirmer, & Schott Music Corporation/European American Distributors, making it one of the largest databases of new American music.

University of Houston Libraries

Music Resources

Manuscript Databases

Major Research Libraries

Music Libraries & Collections

Search

Composer Archives