American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Resources
Welcome to the American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Research Guide. Within this guide, you will find information and links to ASL/English Interpreting related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Specialized Resources
This page provides links to associations, organizations, and agencies; and other online resources related to signed languages, deaf studies, and interpreting.
Gallaudet University Library Resources
Gallaudet University Library has created a number of online resources for sign language and interpreting, and deaf studies. The links below lead to excellent overviews of deaf related research tools.
Please note that you will need to use UH Libraries' databases and online catalog to access the actual resources.
Agencies, Associations, and Organizations
Interpreter Associations
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID)RID is a national membership organization representing the professionals who facilitate communication between people who are deaf or hard of hearing and people who can hear.
- Center for the Assessment of Sign Language Interpretation (CASLI)A subsidiary of RID, CASLI was established for the purpose of development and delivery of testing that assesses the knowledge, skills, abilities, and competence of signed language interpreters for the RID Certification Program.
- Conference of Interpreter Trainers (CIT)CIT is the professional organization of interpreter educators. This site also provides information about the Commission on Collegiate Interpreter Education, the accreditation body for interpreting programs.
- Mano a ManoMano a Mano is a national organization of trilingual (Spanish, English and American Sign Language) interpreters in the United States who work in communities and settings where Spanish is prevalent.
- National Alliance of Black Interpreters, Inc.NAOBI is the national association that supports sign language interpreters from the African diaspora.
- Texas Association of Healthcare Interpreters & Translators (TAHIT)TAHIT's mission is to promote language access within healthcare by facilitating training, education, and communication between government, provider, and individual stakeholders.
- Texas Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators (TAJIT)The mission of the Texas Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators (TAJIT) is to further the professional development and recognition of all judiciary interpreters and translators in Texas.
- Texas Society of Interpreters for the Deaf (TSID)TSID is the first professional organization of interpreters in the nation. TSID is a non-profit organization established for the purpose of developing and strengthening the profession of interpreting in Texas.
International Interpreter Associations
- Association of Visual Language Interpreters of Canada (AVLIC)AVLIC is RID’s counterpart in Canada, and is the only certifying body for ASL-English interpreters in Canada.
- European Forum of Sign Language Interpreters (EFSLI)EFSLI is a membership organization of sign language interpreters from both in and out of the European Union.
- International Association of Conference Interpreters (AIIC)AIIC is the only worldwide association for conference interpreters, representing professional conference interpreters in all languages.
- International Medical Interpreters Association (IMIA)IMIA is an international organization committed to the advancement of professional medical interpreters as the best practice to equitable language access to health care for linguistically diverse patients. See more about their sign language division here.
- Sign Language Interpreters Association of New Zealand (SLIAZ)SLIAZ is a national professional association which represents and advances the profession by informing members and consumers and promoting high standards of practice and integrity in the field.
- World Association of Sign Language Interpreters (WASLI)WASLI was established 23 July 2003 during the 14th World Congress of the World Federation of the Deaf in Montreal Canada with the aim to advance the profession of sign language interpreting worldwide.
Deaf/Hard of Hearing Associations
- American Association of the Deaf Blind (AADB)AADB is a national consumer organization of, by and for deaf-blind Americans and their supporters. Deaf-blind includes all types and degrees of dual vision and hearing loss.
- National Association of the Deaf (NAD)NAD's mission is to promote, protect and preserve the rights and quality of life of deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States.
- American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC)National, independent non-profit organization whose purpose is providing support, encouragement, and information to families raising children who are deaf or hard of hearing. ASDC is the oldest national organization founded by and governed by parents of deaf children.
- Association of Late-Deafened Adults (ALDA)ALDA serves as a resource center providing information and referrals, self-help, and support groups for people deafened as adults. ALDA works to increase public awareness of the special needs of deafened adults.
- Children of Deaf Adults, Inc. (CODA)CODA - Children of Deaf Adults, is a non-profit organization for adult, hearing children of deaf parent(s). CODA promotes family awareness and individual growth via conferences, retreats, publications, scholarships, resource development and fundraising.
- Coalition of Organizations for Accessible TechnologyCoalition of over 300 national, regional, state, and community-based disability organizations. COAT advocates for legislative and regulatory safeguards that will ensure full access by people with disabilities to evolving high speed broadband, wireless and other Internet Protocol (IP) technologies.
- Hands & Voices NationalHands & Voices National is a nationwide nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting families and their children who are deaf or hard-of-hearing as well as the professionals who serve them.
- Intertribal Deaf Council (IDC)IDC is a non-profit organization of Deaf and Hard of Hearing American Indians whose goals are similar to many Native American organizations. IDC promotes the interests of its members by fostering and enhancing their cultural, historical and linguistic tribal traditions.
- National Asian Deaf Congress (NADC)The NADC provides cultural awareness and advocacy for the interests of the Asian Deaf and Hard of Hearing Community.
- National Black Deaf Advocates (NBDA)NBDA's mission is to promote leadership development, economic and educational opportunities, social equality, and to safeguard the general health and welfare of Black deaf and hard of hearing people.
- National Deaf Center on Postsecondary OutcomesNDC is a technical assistance and dissemination center funded by the Department of Education’s Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP). NDC provides evidence-based strategies to deaf individuals, family members, and professionals at the local, state, and national levels with the goal of closing education and employment gaps for deaf individuals.
- National Deaf Education CenterThe Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center at Gallaudet University provides information, training, and technical assistance for parents and professionals to meet the needs of deaf and hard of hearing children.
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication DisordersOne of the institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the NIDCD is mandated to conduct and support biomedical and behavioral research and research training in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language.
- Texas Association of the Deaf (TAD)TAD is a non-profit organization that promotes leadership, growth, and equality among deaf and hard of hearing Texans. The objective of TAD is to preserve, protect, and promote the civil, human, and linguistic rights of deaf, hard of hearing, late deafened, and deaf-blind individuals in Texas.
- World Federation of the Deaf (WFD)WFD is an international non-profit and non-governmental organization of deaf associations from 133 countries representing approximately 70 million deaf people worldwide. Most important among WFD priorities are deaf people in developing countries; the right to sign language; and equal opportunity in all spheres of life, including access to education and information.
Disability Advocacy Organizations
- National Disability Rights NetworkNDRN is the nonprofit membership organization for the federally mandated Protection and Advocacy (P&A) Systems and Client Assistance Programs (CAP) for individuals with disabilities. Collectively, the P&A/CAP network is the largest provider of legally based advocacy services to people with disabilities in the United States.
- Disability Rights TexasDisability Right Texas is the Texas state protection and advocacy organization. The mission of DRTX is to help people with disabilities understand and exercise their rights under the law, ensuring their full and equal participation in society.
- Office of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services, Texas Health and Human ServicesThe Office of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services (DHHS) works in partnership with people who are deaf or hard of hearing to eliminate societal and communication barriers to improve equal access for people who are deaf or hard of hearing.
International Disability Advocacy Associations
- Disabled People's Association - SingaporeDPA is a non-profit, cross-disability organization whose mission is to be the voice of people with disabilities, helping them achieve full participation and equal status in the society through independent living.
Local Organizations
- American Sign Language Society at University of HoustonASL Society exists to encourage the learning of American Sign Language and serve as a liaison between the University of Houston and the community. ASL Society hopes to provide students with the means to immerse themselves in the Deaf community as well as provides access and resources to improve student’s American Sign Language skills.
- Greater Houston Interpreters for the Deaf (GHID)GHID is a professional development organization committed to helping certified interpreters and students increase and sharpen their skills. GHID is a chapter of the Texas Society of Interpreters for the Deaf (TSID) and a direct affiliate chapter of the national Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID).
- Houston Black Deaf Advocates, Inc. (HBDA)The HBDA seeks to provide a forum for African-American Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing citizens to promote and protect the African-American & Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing cultures and heritages, better inform the community about the rights and responsibilities of the African-American Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing citizens, and offer opportunities and encourage increased leadership development and job opportunities.
- Houston Deaf NetworkA central hub for deaf and hard of hearing people in Houston to find information on social activities, and entertainment, resources related to employment and advocacy; and to connect with other members of the deaf community in Houston.
- Houston Interpreters and Translators Association (HITA)The Houston Interpreters and Translators Association (HITA) promotes the interests of translators and interpreters in Houston and surrounding areas.
- Texas ASL EducatorsOffers professional development and workshop share sessions for high school ASL teachers across Texas.
- Texas Hands & Voices (TX H&V)TX H&V is a parent-driven, statewide non-profit organization dedicated to supporting families and their children who are deaf or hard of hearing, as well as the professionals who serve them.
- The Deaf-Blind Multihandicapped Association of Texas - DBMATThe mission of DBMAT is to promote and improve the quality of life for all Texans who are deaf-blind multi-handicapped, deaf multi-handicapped, and blind multi-handicapped.
Information and Resources
Services
- Abused Deaf Women’s Advocacy ServicesADWAS provides comprehensive services to Deaf and Deaf-Blind victims/survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, and stalking, as well as community education, and advocacy on systems and policy issues.
- Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston Deaf MinistryThe Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston serves all the Catholic Deaf and Hard of Hearing. St. Dominic Deaf Center offers all the services of a regular parish.
- National Domestic Violence HotlineThe Hotline provides resources and help for victims of domestic violence who are Deaf, DeafBlind, or hard of hearing.
- AddictionResource.net: Addiction Recovery In People Who Are Visually ImpairedAddiction can be a harrowing experience for anyone. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, blind, or visually impaired can especially find this experience daunting, as they’re faced with not only overcoming an addiction, but attempting to find a treatment program that recognizes and respects their unique challenges.
Education Organizations and Resources
- American Sign Language Honor Society (ASLHS)ASLHS's primary mission is to encourage and recognize high academic achievement in ASL studies for high school and college/university students.
- American Sign Language Teachers Association (ASLTA)ASLTA is a national-level professional organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching of ASL and Deaf Studies at all levels of instruction.
- Commission on Collegiate Interpreter Education (CCIE)CCIE was founded to promote professionalism in the field of sign language interpreter education through the process of accreditation.
- Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students - Accredited Schools OnlineThis guide focuses on resources, tools, devices, systems, and expert tips that can help students of all ages who are deaf or hard of hearing thrive in an educational setting.
- DeafEd.netContains information and resources for deaf education professionals.
- Find an Interpreter Education ProgramSearch for a post-secondary program offering interpreter education. A variety of certificates and degree programs are offered. If you cannot locate one in your area, try searching for programs with distance learning opportunities.
- Gallaudet UniversityGallaudet University is a leader in undergraduate liberal arts education, career development and outstanding graduate programs for deaf, hard-of-hearing and hearing students. The University is also renowned for its research on the history, language and culture of deaf people.
- National Consortium of Interpreter Education Centers (NCIEC)NCIEC was created as a way to maximize expertise, leadership, and fiscal resources toward the goal of enhancing sign language interpreting education.
- National Technical Institute for the Deaf (NTID)NTID’s mission is to provide deaf and hard-of-hearing students with outstanding state-of-the-art technical and professional programs, complemented by a strong liberal arts and sciences curriculum, that prepare them to live and work in the mainstream of a rapidly changing global community and enhances their lifelong learning.
Web Resources
- American Sign Language University (ASLU)American Sign Language University (ASLU) is a resource site for ASL students and teachers.
- ASL NookAn online hub of videos where a Deaf family teaches ASL in a casual, fun way to put people at ease in learning the natural language of the Deaf.
- ASLized!ASLized fosters the integration of American Sign Language (ASL) educational research into visual media and literacy. The main objective is to produce teaching and learning materials in ASL with two focuses: 1.) ASL literature, preserving culture and history and 2.) ASL Linguistics, promoting a better understanding of the complex structure and use of sign languages.
- Basic Dictionary of ASL TermsThis dictionary has both animated and text definitions. The sign images are displayed from the perspective of the viewer, not the signer.
- CaptionfishCaptionfish is a captioned movies search engine for open captioned, Rear Window®, USL, CaptiView®, foreign/subtitled, and descriptively-narrated movies showing at theaters across the United States and Canada.
- CyberASL NetworkCyberASL is an interactive, web-based ASL laboratory/workbook, including exercises, quizzes, exams, and resources.
- Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students - Accredited Schools OnlineThis guide focuses on resources, tools, devices, systems, and expert tips that can help students of all ages who are deaf or hard of hearing thrive in an educational setting.
- Described and Captioned Media ProgramThe DCMP's mission is to provide all persons who are deaf or hard of hearing awareness of and equal access to communication and learning through the use of captioned educational media and supportive collateral materials. The DCMP also acts as a captioning information and training center.
- DeafLinx.comDeaf Linx is a resource for information on deafness, deaf culture, American Sign Langauge (ASL) and all other related topics.
- Deaf NetworkThe Deaf Network site provides community resources and newsletter covering New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas.
- Deaf Studies GuidesFrom Rochester Institute of Technology.
- DiscoverInterpretingThe DiscoverInterpreting site provides education, resources, and support meant to help guide those are interested in pursuing a career in interpreting.
- HandSpeakHandSpeak is a content site on sign language, consisting of American Sign Language (ASL) online dictionary, grammar tutorials, fingerspelling, literary arts (storytelling and poetry), ASL writing, and other features.
- Lifeprint.comAn online English to ASL dictionary from American Sign Language University (ASLU).
- My Smart HandsMy Smart Hands is than international company that runs classes teaching parents sign language to use for pre-verbal communication with infants.
- Signed Language - iLoveLanguagesiLoveLanguages' purpose is to list, categorize, and promote Internet resources related to language learning, education, and use.
- Signing SavvySigning Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs used within the United States and Canada.
A Word About Evaluating Websites
There is a lot of health information freely available on the Internet. Some websites offer up-to-date, authoritative information. Some websites offer out-dated, misunderstood, and incorrect information. To complicate matters, it can be very difficult to tell the two apart. The following will help you evaluate health information websites and allow you to judge each website on its information merit, not just its looks: A User's Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the Web (Medical Library Association).
Search
Quick Links
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID)RID is a national membership organization representing the professionals who facilitate communication between people who are deaf or hard of hearing and people who can hear.
- Texas BEI RegistryTexas Health and Human Services Board for Evaluation of Interpreters Registry.
- NIDCD ASL Fact SheetThe National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders put together a fact sheet covering topics pertaining to ASL.
Librarian
Rachel Helbing
she/her