American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Resources

Welcome to the American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Research Guide. Within this guide, you will find information and links to ASL/English Interpreting related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.

Scholarly Articles

This page provides links to databases and journals where you can find articles and clinical information to help you with your research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
With indexes and abstracts more than 600 journals, 300 of which also include full text articles, CMMC contains a Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing as well as over 3,000 author biographies.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
ERIC (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Indexes nonjournal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Subjects covered include adult, career, and vocational education, assessment and evaluation, disabilities and gifted education, educational management, elementary and early childhood education, higher education, information and technology, language and linguistics, reading and communication, teachers and teacher education, urban education.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

See all communication sciences & disorders databases here.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents. Author-submitted content is downloadable at no charge by users world-wide.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.

Recommended Journals

Core journals related to signed languages and the interpreting profession. If the full text is available from the UH Libraries, the title is in red (click to access).

Interpreting: International Journal of Research and Practice in Interpreting Serves as a medium for research and debate on all aspects of interpreting, in its various modes, modalities, and settings. Strives to promote understanding of the socio-cultural, cognitive and linguistic dimensions of interpreting as an activity and process.
Journal of ASL and Literature (JASLL) Independent, peer-reviewed with open access digital journal committed to promoting the nationwide dissemination of original ASL-related research and literature.
Journal of Interpretation Scholarly publication of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) that reflects a broad, interdisciplinary approach to the interpretation and translation of languages.
Journal of Interpretation Research Communicates original empirical research dealing with interpretation and provides a forum for scholarly discourse about issues facing the profession of interpretation.
Sign Language Studies Provides a forum for the dissemination of important ideas and opinions concerning signed languages and the communities who use them.
Translation & Interpreting: International Journal of Translation and Interpreting Research Seeks to create a cross-fertilization between research, training and professional practice.
Translation & Interpreting Studies: TIS Disseminates knowledge and research relevant to all areas of language mediation.
The Translator Covers original and innovative research on a variety of issues related to translation and interpreting as acts of intercultural communication.
More Signed Languages and Interpreter Journals

Core journals and newsmagazines related to deaf studies. If the full text is available from the UH Libraries, the title is in red (click to access).

American Annals of the Deaf Focuses primarily on the education of deaf students and on information for professionals associated with the educational development of these students.
Deaf Studies Digital Journal (DSDJ) A peer-reviewed, online journal dedicated to advancing the cultural, creative and critical output of work in and about signed languages and their communities.
Deafness & Education International Provides a multidisciplinary forum on the education of children and young people who are deaf or hard-of-hearing.
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association: JADARA Deals with research findings (pragmatic applications), program descriptions and articles on deafness, and the disciplines of rehabilitation, social services, mental health, substance abuse and other related areas.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education Integrates and coordinates basic and applied research relating to individuals who are deaf, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, and educational topics.
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies Focuses on representations of disability, publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability.
Journal of Memory and Language Contributes to the formulation of scientific issues and theories in the areas of memory, language comprehension and production, and cognitive processes.
The Lone Star The official publication of the Texas School for the Deaf.
More Deaf Studies Journals

Core journals related to audiology and speech-language pathology. If the full text is available from the UH Libraries, the title is in red (click to access).

ASHA Leader Provides news for and about audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and speech, language and hearing scientists; and showcases the latest research and practice advances in communication sciences and disorders.
Augmentative and Alternative Communication Dedicated to the field of augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) that report research concerning assessment, treatment, rehabilitation, and education of people who use or have the potential to use AAC systems; or that discuss theory, technology, and systems development relevant to AAC.
Brain and Language Covers the large variety of modern techniques in cognitive neuroscience, including functional and structural brain imaging, electrophysiology, cellular and molecular neurobiology, genetics, lesion-based approaches, and computational modeling.
Ear and Hearing Covers all aspects of auditory and vestibular disorders. Provides a multidisciplinary forum on the various factors that contribute to identification, remediation, and audiologic and vestibular rehabilitation.
Hearing Research Provides a forum on basic peripheral and central auditory mechanisms, with emphasis on experimental and clinical studies.
Mind & Language Covers the interdisciplinary phenomena of mind and language.
Trends in Hearing Reports on the latest scientific information and technical innovations in human hearing, hearing loss, hearing aids, auditory implants, and aural rehabilitation.
Volta Review Devoted to reporting scholarly findings that explore the development of listening and spoken language by individuals with hearing loss.
Volta Voices Features actionable and useful articles on a wide range of clinical, educational and professional topics, including hearing loss, education, technology, listening and spoken language, and family support.
More Communication Sciences & Disorders Journals

What is a library database?

Your instructor or subject librarian may throw around the term "library database" a lot, but what exactly do they mean? This video from the University of Houston Libraries explains the term and how you can use databases for research.

Transcript available through YouTube.

Remote Access

You can access UH Libraries' online resources from anywhere!

To access online resources (e.g. databases, articles) while off campus, you will be asked to log in with your CourgarNet account. Once you log in, you will be redirected to the online resource you selected. You must be a current student, faculty, or staff.

If you do not know your CougarNet account information, then please contact UIT Support Center at:

713-743-1411

or chat with a support representative.

If you have any difficulties accessing UH Libraries' online resources, please use this form to let us know!

University of Houston Libraries

American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Resources

Scholarly Articles

Recommended Databases

Recommended Journals

What is a library database?

Remote Access

Search

Medical & Health Sciences Librarian

Search for Journals