American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Resources
Welcome to the American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Research Guide. Within this guide, you will find information and links to ASL/English Interpreting related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Mobile Apps
Access apps and mobile-optimized sites related to signed languages, interpreting, and captioning resources.
Sign Language Apps
Apple iOS and Android
- SignSchool
iOS | Android
Free
Learn thousands of signs from a diverse group of signers and various dialects, and explore hundreds of sign categories covering a variety of topics. For a more comprehensive learning experience with interactive lessons and learning tools, check out the Sign School website. - Hands On ASL
- ASL Dictionary
iOS | Android
$1.99
This ASL Dictionary from the National Technical Institute for the Deaf is a modified version of their popular ASL Video Dictionary and Inflection Guide -- DIG. The program shows 2,700 signs and 650 sentences that demonstrate how signs change, or “inflect”, to convey different meanings.
Apple iOS Only
- ASL Coach
iOS only
Free, in-app purchases
If you’re just beginning, this app will teach you to sign the alphabet and numbers one through nine. In coach mode, users can watch and follow along. - ASL Fingerspelling
iOS only
$3.99
This app is a practice tool designed to help improve the ability to read fingerspelling. Users can choose the word length (2-any) and speed (slow to fast) of the fingerspelling, record their answer and keep score. An expert mode is available as ability increases. - Marlee Signs
iOS only
Free, in-app purchases
Academy Award winning deaf actress, Marlee Matlin, teaches the fundamentals of ASL, from the signed alphabet and basic vocabulary through common expressions in everyday life. Each lesson is broken down into individual videos so users can learn at their own pace. The app keeps track of completed lessons and features a “slow motion” setting to allow viewing in greater detail. - WeSign Basic
iOS only
Free
This app teaches ASL relating to school, helping parents ask common questions of their deaf children such as, “Did you finish your homework?” Videos feature Deaf adults asking questions of Deaf children with various answers. Features include normal and slow play modes as well as resources to learn more about American Sign Language. - Sign Language for the Classroom
iOS only
Free, in-app purchases
This app features over 600 signs for classroom use, including signs for biology, geography, government, mathematics, physics, technology, US history and auto-mechanics. The 96 Biology signs can be accessed for free, the others through in-app purchase. Each sign is shown in a clear video demonstration. The search function allows you to search for words.
Android Only
- Sign Language ASL
Caption Apps
Apple iOS and Android
- Otter: Meeting Note, Transcription, Voice Recorder
iOS | Android
Free, in-app purchases
Automated meeting notes for Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, and more. Automated meeting notes for Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, and more. Stay connected and collaborative when you work from home. Otter records and takes meeting notes in real-time, and all information (e.g. actions, highlights, photos, attendees) is captured, easily searchable, and shareable. Otter.ai is also available online. English only. - InnoCaption+
iOS | Android
Free
InnoCaption+ is a free captioning service for the deaf and hard of hearing funded by the FCC. It provides real-time captioning on your mobile device. The app was developed in conjunction with live stenographers to provide fast, easy, accurate captioning. Users must register and self-certify you have a hearing loss to use this service. - TextHear
iOS | Android
Free, in-app purchases
You can use the Text Hear app in everyday conversations to help you convert natural speech to text in large, easy-to-read letters displayed on your mobile device. Features include automatic punctuation and spacing, font size and color choices, and support for more than 100 languages and accents.
Apple iOS Only
- ClearCaptions Mobile
iOS
Free
This Apple app offers real-time captioning on your mobile phone with ClearCaptions Mobile. ClearCaptions is an FCC-certified service made possible through a federally-funded program for qualified individuals with hearing loss. They offer a free account with a personal ClearCaptions voice phone number for captioned calls. Captioned phone conversations can be saved for later review. - Live Transcribe
iOS
Free, in-app purchases
Live captioning for people who are deaf or hard of hearing in 50+ languages. - Live Caption
iOS
Free, in-app purchases
When you download this app, they can speak directly into your phone and Live Caption transcribes in real time. To begin captioning, simply press the microphone button on the keyboard, speak normally and text results will appear. It also works with most Bluetooth devices such as headsets and in-ear microphones. This app does not work with incoming phone calls or store and save captured text. In addition to English, language options include Spanish, French, Japanese and Sanskrit. - Sub: Subtitles Viewer
iOS
Free, in-app purchases
Need subtitles for your favorite television show or movie? They’re as close as your smartphone when you download this app, which synchronizes with what you’re watching. The Sub app is available in English, Spanish, Arabic, Bengali, Chines, Danish, French, German, Greek, Javanese, Hebrew, Italian, Malay, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Sweden, Thai, Turkish, and Vietnamese. - eyeHear
iOS
Free
This app uses Siri’s speech recognition to provide captioning to users. Press and hold the iPhone screen to caption what you or others are saying in large, easy-to-read text. Includes a keyboard interface to accommodate those without speech.
Android Only
- Live Transcribe & Sound Notifications
Android
Free
An app that makes everyday conversations and surrounding sounds more accessible among people who are deaf and hard of hearing. provides you free, real-time transcriptions of your conversations and sends notifications based on your surrounding sounds at home. - Hamilton CapTel
Android
Free
This mobile application is free and designed for those who have trouble hearing on the telephone and want to listen to phone conversations while reading word-for-word captions of what’s being said. In addition to creating a Hamilton CapTel account, CapTel users must have a voice and data plan, and a Bluetooth or wired headset that works with hearing aids or cochlear implants. Apple iOS version coming soon. - Talk to Deaf
Android
Free, in-app purchases
Use your phone to translate your speech into text. Includes the following features: voice input and automatic translation into text, text entry using the keyboard for entering answers, font can be enlarged and reduced as desired, the history can be deleted.
