American Sign Language (ASL)/English Interpreting Resources
Books and eBooks
The books listed below are recommended, supplemental resources.
Electronic copies of books: Many texts are available online via the library's ebook databases, and direct links to the ebooks are provided when available.
Print copies of books: Recommended textbooks may not be available online. A limited number of print copies are available in the library. Call numbers are listed for any books that are available in print. Print-only titles are linked to their record in the library catalog where you can check availability at campus library locations.
Books on Sign Language, Interpreting, and Deaf Studies
Recommended Texts
Bilingualism and Bilingual Deaf EducationISBN: 9780199371822
Evidence-Based Practice in Educating Deaf and Hard-Of-Hearing StudentsISBN: 9780199780112
Form, Meaning, and Focus in American Sign LanguageISBN: 9781563685736
Here or There: Research on Interpreting Via Video LinkISBN: 9781944838225
Metaphor in American Sign LanguageISBN: 9781563680991
Original Signs: Gesture, Sign, and the Sources of LanguageCall Number: P116 .A754 1999ISBN: 1563680750
Research in Deaf Education: Contexts, Challenges, and ConsiderationsISBN: 9780190455651
Sign Language Interpreting and Interpreter EducationISBN: 9780195176940
The Signing Family: What Every Parent Should Know About Sign CommunicationCall Number: HV2474 .S685 1998ISBN: 1563680696
Reference Sources
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral ScienceCall Number: BF31 .E52 2001 v. 1-v. 4ISBN: 9780471239499
Deaf Epistemologies, Identity, and Learning: A Comparative PerspectiveISBN: 9781563686702
Deaf Persons in the Arts and Sciences: A Biographical DictionaryCall Number: HV2373 .L36 1995ISBN: 9780313291708
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and DeafnessCall Number: HV2365 .G35 1987 v. 1-v. 3ISBN: 9780070792296
Grammar, Gesture, and Meaning in American Sign LanguageCall Number: HV2474 .L53 2003ISBN: 9780521816205
Linguistics of American Sign Language: An IntroductionCall Number: HV2474 .V35 2011ISBN: 9781563685071
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication DisordersISBN: 9780262112789
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies in LanguageISBN: 9780190241414
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and EducationCall Number: HV2380 .O88 2011ISBN: 9780199750986
Random House Webster's American Sign Language Legal DictionaryCall Number: K52.A6 C67 2003ISBN: 9780375719431
Random House Webster's American Sign Language Medical DictionaryCall Number: HV2475 .C663 2000ISBN: 9780375709272
Remote Access
You can access UH Libraries' online resources from anywhere!
To access online resources (e.g. databases, articles) while off campus, you will be asked to log in with your CourgarNet account. Once you log in, you will be redirected to the online resource you selected. You must be a current student, faculty, or staff.
If you do not know your CougarNet account information, then please contact UIT Support Center at:
713-743-1411
or chat with a support representative.
If you have any difficulties accessing UH Libraries' online resources, please use this form to let us know!
Search
Medical & Health Sciences Librarian
Finding Print Books
To find print books available at the UH Libraries, click on the link above and search by Keyword, Title, Author, Subject, or ISSN.