Social Policy Resources
Welcome to the Social Policy Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Social Policy related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Statistical Information & Poll Data
- NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new windowThe National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including: Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer provides U.S. demographic data back to 1790 through data reports and interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried, and manipulated on the site.
- Roper Center Public Opinion CenterThe Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion. Users can search the iPOLL Databank which is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Users can also search at the dataset level using "RoperExpress" which allows immediate download of about 75% of the Center's public opinion studies conducted in the US from 1935 to present, and many recent studies from outside of the US
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis database includes statistics in the areas of population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowSimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States.
Find Stats from Websites
- Data.govData.gov is the home of the US government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
- KIDS Count Data CenterAccess hundreds of measures of child well-being, including all those regularly used in our popular Data Book and the Right Start for America's Newborns.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThis unit of the U.S. Department of Education provides full-text Web access to many of their major statistical reports on education in the United States.
- Pew Research Center: Social & Demographic TrendsAn independent public opinion survey research project that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.
- World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators This link opens in a new windowProvides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe.
- Child Welfare Outcomes Report DataChild Welfare Outcomes Reports provide information on the performance of states in seven outcome categories.
Texas Stats
Texas State Data Center: Center for the distribution of Texas Census information.
US Census Bureau: Federal, State, & Local Governments: The Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships.
Center for Public Policy Priorities (CPPP): a nonpartisan and nonprofit policy institue in Texas. You can find research reports, facts and statistical data on this site on a wide range of issues that concern Texans.