The primary mission of the Annie E. Casey Foundation is to foster public policies, human-service reforms, and community supports that more effectively meet the needs of today's vulnerable children and families.
One of the oldest think tanks in the United States, the Brookings Institution is an independent, nonpartisan organization that conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and economic development. Among its divisions are the Metropolitan Policy Program and the Center on Children and Families.
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization that is conservative/libertarian in its political philosophy, and advocates a limited role for government in domestic and foreign affairs as well as a strong protection of civil rights. Policy analyses, briefs and reports are available online.
The CFFPP is a progressive policy think tank that uses technical assistance, policy research and analysis, and public education and outreach to advocate on behalf of low-income families and develop public awareness of their needs.
CLASP is a national, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that conducts research, policy analysis, and advocacy on issues related to economic security for low-income families with children. This site is a rich source of electronic publications on many issues including welfare policy, child welfare, child support and low-income fathers, couples and marriage policy, and child care and early education.
Using data, extensive community experience and a focus on results, CSSP promotes public policies that strengthen families and protect and lift children from poverty. The Center was founded in 1979 to assist federal, state, and local governments in improving human services for low-income and other disadvantaged populations.
The CBPP is a progressive think tank that analyzes the impact of federal and state government budget policies, with an emphasis on those affecting low and moderate income people. Areas of research include low-income housing, poverty and income, welfare reform/TANF, food assistance, and health policies
The mission of The Commonwealth Fund is to promote a high-performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for low-income people, the uninsured, and people of color. The Fund supports research on health care issues and policy. See the Publications & Data tab.
The EPI describes itself as a nonpartisan think tank that "seeks to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions." It is affiliated with the labor movement, and is usually described as presenting a liberal viewpoint on public policy issues.
The Guttmacher Institute works to study, educate, and advance sexual and reproductive health and rights. One of the Institute's biggest projects is keeping a running list of the reproductive health laws and policies throughout the United States.
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, or just Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. The website features publications and data.
The Heritage Foundation is a conservative think tank that promotes public policies based on "…the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense."
The IWPR aims to advance women’s status through social science research, policy analysis, and public education. There are links to the institute's research and public policy areas such as poverty, welfare and income security, work and family, and the status of women in the states. See also the Publications link.
MDRC is an education and social policy research organization that focuses on low-income people. Policy areas covered include public education, children and families, workers and communities, and welfare and barriers to employment.
The NCCP is a non-partisan research center that promotes the interests of children in low-income families. They cover a number of topics, including child poverty, adolescent health and youth development, healthy development, low-wage work, and children's mental health. The site includes an easy-to-use data wizard for comparing states on a variety of variables.
National Center for Policy Analysis
The NCPA was a non-profit American think tank whose goals were to develop and promote private alternatives to government regulation and control. The NCPA ceased operation in mid-2017. An NCPA website is maintained as a public archive at NCPAThinkTank.org and
publications have also been archived. Topics it addressed include reforms in health care, taxes, Social Security, welfare, education, and environmental regulation.
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping America and the world. It also conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
"The mission of PolicyLab at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) is to achieve optimal child health and well-being by informing program and policy changes through interdisciplinary research." PolicyLab researches, develops and implements evidence-based solutions that are responsive to community needs and relevant to child health policy priorities.
"We collaborate with governments and civil society organizations to understand and overcome obstacles to health and development. We partner with policymakers and donors to help inform global, national, and local policies with evidence. And we use state-of-the-art biomedical science to develop new contraceptives and prevention technologies to limit the transmission of HIV and other STIs." A variety of publications and working papers are accessible online.
Poverty Solutions is a University of Michigan initiative that aims to prevent and alleviate poverty through action-based research that informs policymakers, community organizations, government entities, and practitioners about what works in confronting poverty.
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit global policy think tank that provides research and analysis covering many policy issues, including children, population and aging, education, health and health care.
The Urban Institute conducts research that informs policy across a broad range of topics including children, health policy, housing, welfare reform, immigration, cities and metropolitan regions, the nonprofit sector, and tax policy.
A project of Demand Progress in collaboration with the Congressional Data Coalition, this site includes every CRS report that’s available on Congress’s internal website CRS.gov, plus about 5,100 archived reports from the University of North Texas Libraries Government Documents Department CRS reports collection (see link below).
Searchable source of CRS reports (enter "crs and your topic"). Access annual reports, or browse CRS reports by subject. Additionally, many relevant reports will be listed on the "Miscellaneous Topics" page.
Another searchable collection of Congressional Research Service Reports. The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the UNT Libraries.
The CBO is a nonpartisan agency that produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. You can browse publication by subject under the Topics tab.