Nursing Resources

Welcome to the Andy & Barbara Gessner College of Nursing Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Nursing and other Allied Health-related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.

Scholarly Articles

This page provides links to databases and journals where you can find articles and clinical information to help you with your research.

Recommended Resources

Nursing & Allied Health Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source, Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source, Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
The database aggregates hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies, with each journal available by individual subscription. Includes access and searching of all the bibliographic citations, references, and abstracts in the database as well as to the full text of select journals.
Ovid Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
Exclusive collection of top nursing journals which are used by nurses, nursing students and health professionals around the world on a daily basis.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref has authoritative medical, nursing and allied health information. Includes evidence based information, eBooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, anatomy flash cards, and board test prep. Covers coding, drug information, emergency care, nursing and more.

See all nursing databases here.

Citation Indexes

Health science research is often multidisciplinary. Below is a list of multidisciplinary databases to start you in the right path. You can also use these databases to conduct basic searches to 'scope' out a subject; quickly find seminal articles; and conduct bibliometrics research.

Key Citation Indexes

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields

Regional Indexes

Global Index Medicus (GIM)
Regional indexes for global health research provided by the World Health Organization. Consists of 5 regional indices (listed below) and contains literature published from low- and middle- income countries.
African Index Medicus (AIM)
International index to health information published in or related to Africa.
LILACS: Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature
Covers literature related to the health sciences and has been published in countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982.
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR)
IMEMR comprises about 256,078 citations for health and biomedical sciences literature published in 782 peer-reviewed journals from 20 countries in the Region.
Index Medicus for the South-East Asian Region (IMSEAR)
IMSEAR is an archive of selected publications in health sciences in the WHO South-East Asia Region.
Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM)
WPRIM is the regional bibliographic index of medical and health journals published by the Member States of the Western Pacific Region.

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised health care evidence, including 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

PubMed Clinical Queries
PubMed Clinical Queries allows you to quickly and easily search for relevant clinical literature on etiology, prognosis, diagnosis and therapy of diseases and diagnostics. PubMed Clinical Queries is designed to filter one search by three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.

Biomedicine Databases

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Focuses on journals covering science, technology and medicine specializing in biology, medicine and health.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.

Dissertations & Theses Databases

Dissertations & Theses at University of Houston (2010-Present) This link opens in a new window
The University of Houston Libraries collect and make publicly available all electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) produced in UH graduate and PhD programs through the UH institutional repository.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Online access to 8 ProQuest dissertations & theses databases : Dissertations & Theses @ University of Houston, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Business, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Health & Medicine, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Health & Medicine, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: History, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Literature & Language, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Science & Technology, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Social Sciences, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts.

Clinical Tools

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool of more than 3000 topics designed for physicians and health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journal and systemic evidence review databases.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses, nurse educators, recent nursing graduates, and nursing students. Content includes: core measure topics, nursing care plans, nursing management and leadership topics, regulatory and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, videos and images, continuing education modules, patient education handouts, nursing reference books, etc.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care clinical resource. Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.

Top Nursing Journals

Top 5 nursing journals with the highest 5-year impact factor rankings in Journal Citation Reports. If the full text is available from the UH Libraries, the title is in red (click to access).

International Journal of Nursing Studies Provides a forum for original research and scholarship about health care delivery, organisation, management, workforce, policy and research methods relevant to nursing, midwifery and other health related professions.
Nursing Outlook The official journal of the American Academy of Nursing and the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science, examines current issues and trends in nursing practice, education, and research.
Birth: Issues in Perinatal Care Provides a multidisciplinary forum on all issues and practices in the care of childbearing women, infants, and families.
Journal of Nursing Scholarship Focused on health of people throughout the world, the official journal of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International reflects the honor society's dedication to providing the tools necessary to improve nursing care globally.
Nursing Ethics Takes a practical approach to this complex subject and relates each topic to the working environment.
More Nursing Journals

What is a library database?

Your instructor or subject librarian may throw around the term "library database" a lot, but what exactly do they mean? This video from the University of Houston Libraries explains the term and how you can use databases for research.

Transcript available through YouTube.

Remote Access

You can access UH Libraries' online resources from anywhere!

To access online resources (e.g. databases, articles) while off campus, you will be asked to log in with your CourgarNet account. Once you log in, you will be redirected to the online resource you selected. You must be a current student, faculty, or staff.

If you do not know your CougarNet account information, then please contact UIT Support Center at:

713-743-1411

or chat with a support representative.

If you have any difficulties accessing UH Libraries' online resources, please use this form to let us know!

University of Houston Libraries

Nursing Resources

Scholarly Articles

Recommended Resources

Top Nursing Journals

What is a library database?

Remote Access

Search

Medical & Health Sciences Librarian

Health & Medicine Databases @ UH Libraries

Search for Journals