Nursing Resources
Welcome to the Andy & Barbara Gessner College of Nursing Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Nursing and other Allied Health-related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Books and eBooks
The books listed below are recommended, supplemental resources.
Electronic copies of books: Many texts are available online via the library's ebook databases, and direct links to the ebooks are provided when available.
Print copies of books: Recommended textbooks may not be available online. A limited number of print copies are available in the library. Call numbers are listed for any books that are available in print. Print-only titles are linked to their record in the library catalog where you can check availability at campus library locations.
The Basics
ANA Publications
Publications from the American Nurses Association (ANA) and other professional organizations.
Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive StatementsCall Number: HBSL RT85 .G85 2015ISBN: 9781558106031
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Telehealth NursingISBN: 9781940325545
Palliative Nursing: Scope and Standards of PracticeCall Number: RT87.T45 P368 2014ISBN: 9781558105393
Nursing Informatics: Scope and Standards of PracticeCall Number: RT50.5 .N8696 2015ISBN: 9781558105799
Public Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of PracticeCall Number: RT97 .P837 2013ISBN: 9781558104907
Home Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of PracticeCall Number: RT120.H65 A44 2014ISBN: 9781558105591
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Ambulatory Care NursingISBN: 9781940325361
Fundamentals
Empirical Nursing: The Art of Evidence-Based CareISBN: 9781787438149
Fundamentals of Nursing: The Art and Science of Person-Centered Nursing CareCall Number: RT41 .T396 2019ISBN: 9781496349323
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and PracticeISBN: 9780470657768
Nursing Research: Reading, Using and Creating Evidence by ISBN: 9781284038705
History
The American Red Cross from Clara Barton to the New DealISBN: 9781421407388
Black Women in White: Racial Conflict and Cooperation in the Nursing Profession, 1890-1950Call Number: RT83.5 .H56 1989ISBN: 9780253205292
Devices and Desires: Gender, Technology, and American NursingCall Number: RT42 .S26 2000ISBN: 9780807848937
Medicine Women: The Story of the First Native American Nursing SchoolISBN: 9780826360670
Nurses' Questions / Women's Questions: The Impact of the Demographic Revolution and Feminism on United States Working Women, 1946-1986Call Number: RT86.5 .L43 1996ISBN: 0820427551
Routledge Handbook on the Global History of NursingISBN: 9781138958982
Theory
Contemporary Nursing Knowledge: Analysis and Evaluation of Nursing Models and TheoriesCall Number: RT84.5 .F393 2013ISBN: 9780803627659
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & PracticeCall Number: RT86.54 .M34 2018ISBN: 9780071841139
Middle Range Theory for NursingISBN: 9780826159915
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing PracticeCall Number: RT84.5 .P56 2018ISBN: 9781284112245
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists: A Creative BeginningISBN: 9781284091502
Leadership/Management
The Business of Nurse Management: A Toolkit for SuccessISBN: 9780826155726
Change Leadership in Nursing: How Change Occurs in a Complex Hospital SystemISBN: 9780826108371
Claiming the Corner Office: Executive Leadership Lessons for NursesCall Number: RT37.N5 A88 2012ISBN: 9781937554354
Fast Facts for the Clinical Nurse ManagerISBN: 9780826127884
Financial Management for Nurse Managers: Merging the Heart with the DollarISBN: 9781284127256
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health ProfessionsISBN: 9781284099416
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health CareISBN: 9781284146530
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing: Theory and ApplicationCall Number: RT89 .M387 2017ISBN: 9781496349798
Nursing in Today's World: Trends, Issues, and ManagementCall Number: RT82 .E45 2023ISBN: 9781975184940
Patient Safety
Patient Safety: Perspectives on Evidence, Information and Knowledge TransferISBN: 9781409438571
Patient Safety Culture: Theory, Methods and ApplicationISBN: 9781409448143
Smart Nursing: Nurse Retention & Patient Safety Improvement StrategiesISBN: 9780826104649
Resources
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied HealthISBN: 9781414498881
A Dictionary of NursingISBN: 9780198788454
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and ResearchISBN: 9780826106650
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health ProfessionsCall Number: R121 .M89 2017ISBN: 9780323222051
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and NursingCall Number: R121 .S8 2008ISBN: 9780781776189
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical DictionaryISBN: 9780803659049
Drug Guides
2018 Nurse's Drug HandbookISBN: 9781284121346
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing ImplicationsCall Number: RB38.2 .D38 2021ISBN: 9781719640589
Nursing Drug GuideISBN: 9781469839370
2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug HandbookISBN: 9781284171327
The Textbook of Non-Medical PrescribingISBN: 9781405199353
Research
A Step-By-Step Guide to Conducting an Integrative ReviewISBN: 9783030375034
Community-Based Health Research: Issues, Methods, and Translation to PracticeCall Number: RA440.85 .C645 2013ISBN: 9780826193964
Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to PaperCall Number: Q180.55.M4 F56 2020ISBN: 9781544318479
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical GuideCall Number: RA440.85 .A949 2019ISBN: 9780335248001
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social CareCall Number: RT81.5 .C68 2021ISBN: 9781526497529
Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing PracticeCall Number: RT81.5 .P63 2018ISBN: 9781496351296
Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing PracticeISBN: 9780803614895
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix MethodCall Number: R118.6 .G37 2022ISBN: 9781284211177
How to Write a Successful Research Grant ApplicationCall Number: HG177 .H683 2011ISBN: 9781441914538
Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based PracticeISBN: 9781284079654
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health ProfessionalsCall Number: R727 .I58 2020ISBN: 9781284153774
Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based PracticeCall Number: RT81.5 .N8665 2018ISBN: 9780323431316
Nursing Research: Reading, Using and Creating EvidenceISBN: 9781284038705
Nursing Research Using Data AnalysisISBN: 9780826126887
Nursing Research Using Historical MethodsISBN: 9780826126177
The Research Process in NursingISBN: 9781118522585
Reviewing Research Evidence for Nursing PracticeISBN: 047069212X
Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based PracticeISBN: 9781455770601
Study Skills and Writing
Study Skills for Nursing and Midwifery StudentsISBN: 9780335222209
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP ProjectISBN: 9781948057370- A Step-By-Step Guide to Conducting an Integrative ReviewISBN: 9783030375034
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for NursesISBN: 9781948057936- Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical GuideCall Number: RA440.85 .A949 2019ISBN: 9780335248001
- Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social CareCall Number: RT81.5 .C68 2021ISBN: 9781526497529
- Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix MethodCall Number: R118.6 .G37 2022ISBN: 9781284211177
- How to Write a Successful Research Grant ApplicationCall Number: HG177 .H683 2011ISBN: 9781441914538
Published: A Guide to Literature Review, Outlining, Experimenting, Visualization, Writing, Editing, and Peer Review for Your First Scientific Journal ArticleCall Number: T11 .D355 2020ISBN: 9781734493108
Writing for Publication in NursingISBN: 9780826147011
Math, Dosage, and Calculations
Medicine Management Skills for NursesISBN: 9781118448854
Clinical Calculations: With Applications to General and Specialty AreasCall Number: RS57 .K44 2016ISBN: 9780323390880
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly EasyISBN: 9781496308375
Drug Calculations for Nurses: A Step by Step ApproachISBN: 9780340987339
Search
eBook Collections
Finding Print Books
To find print books available at the UH Libraries, click on the link above and search by Keyword, Title, Author, Subject, or ISSN.
Librarian
Rachel Helbing
she/her