Welcome to the College of Nursing Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Nursing and other Allied Health-related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference is designed to allow users to quickly navigate the 35 billion points of data contained in the repository, representing 4.9 billion datasets covering thousands of geographic entities.
Topics range from American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
The Center for Health Statistics (CHS) was established to provide a convenient access point for health-related data for Texas. The CHS has a web-based query system called Texas Health Data. This interactive site allows users to query DSHS public health datasets to obtain statistical reports and summaries.
This site is organized by broad topics (incidence by topic, mortality, county overviews, environmental data, etc.) and focuses on county level data for Texas. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.
A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data. Select a category to see indicators. Results will be shown as a table or map as available.
The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents in all 50 states, as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories, regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
CDC Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research (CDC WONDER) makes
many health-related data sets available to help with public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Provides data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners.
A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies.
SAMHSA's Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ) is the lead Federal government agency for behavioral health data and research. CBHSQ maintains several data collection systems and surveys on key topics in U.S. behavioral health.
The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) at the National Library of Medicine provides links to federal and non-federal databases/repositories, health statistics, international statistical resources, federal and non-federal surveys and tools, and state surveys and tools.
The USDA NAL houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences. . Provides access to surveys, reports, and research on food and nutrition, weight and obesity, US nutrition assistance programs, historic information, and more.
OECD is an intergovernmental economic organization founded to stimulate economic progress and world trade. The OECD publishes comparable statistics on a wide number of subjects to inform and steer economic, social and environmental policies.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the people of the Americas. PAHO disseminates scientific and technical information, and promotes the use of research evidence to inform health care decisions and policymaking through its PLISA Database.
Brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.