Welcome to the College of Nursing Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Nursing/Allied Health-related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source, Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
The database aggregates hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies, with each journal available by individual subscription. Includes access and searching of all the bibliographic citations, references, and abstracts in the database as well as to the full text of select journals.
STAT!Ref has authoritative medical, nursing and allied health information. Includes evidence based information, eBooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, anatomy flash cards, and board test prep. Covers coding, drug information, emergency care, nursing and more.
The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised health care evidence, including 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool of more than 3000 topics designed for physicians and health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journal and systemic evidence review databases.
Nursing Reference Center Plus is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses, nurse educators, recent nursing graduates, and nursing students. Content includes: core measure topics, nursing care plans, nursing management and leadership topics, regulatory and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, videos and images, continuing education modules, patient education handouts, nursing reference books, etc.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Assists in selection of academic journals that are most likely to publish your manuscript. The index in each directory helps to match the characteristics of the manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes. The directory also includes information on the journals' acceptance rates, publication guidelines, number of copies required, types of review process, the number of internal and external reviewers, time required for review and availability of reviewers' comments.
Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in accounting , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in economics and finance , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in management , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in marketing , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in educational curriculum and methods , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in educational psychology and administration , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in educational technology and library science , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in health administration , Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in nursing
Critically evaluate and compare journals in the sciences and social sciences using citation data from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. Use JCR to find the most frequently cited journals, and measure research influence through impact factor, aggregate impact factor, the aggregate immediacy index, aggregated cited half-life, and the number of articles in each category. Full name of the database is Incites Journal Citation Reports.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields