Chemistry Resources
Welcome to the Chemistry Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Chemistry-related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.
What is a reference source?
Reference sources are generally meant to be consulted rather than read cover to cover. Chemistry references typically provide topic overviews, chemical data, or citations to chemical literature. Examples of reference sources include handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias include articles that provide background and overview information on topics of interest.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyArticles on chemical substance properties, manufacturing, and uses, with a focus on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryA benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical and life science engineering, covering inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and more.
Handbooks
Handbooks can be used to look up quick facts, such as property data, units of measurement, processes, and safety information.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new windowA core reference database for chemical and physical data with interactive tables.
- Lange's Handbook of ChemistryLange's lists the properties of over 4000 organic and 1400 inorganic compounds and includes tables covering viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density.
- Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, 9th editionAn industry-standard resource with information and data related to chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more.
The following handbooks are available in print!
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: QD65 .H3Publication Date: 2010A core reference database for chemical and physical data with interactive tables.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by Call Number: QD65 .L36 2005Publication Date: 2005Lange's lists the properties of over 4000 organic and 1400 inorganic compounds and includes tables covering viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density.
The Yaws Handbook of Physical Properties for Hydrocarbons and Chemicals by Call Number: TP200 .Y39 2005Publication Date: 2005This comprehensive collection of data on chemical compounds covers c1 to c100 organics and Ac to Zr inorganics.
Use the call numbers guide to determine where print books are located.
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com