Chemistry Resources
What is Data?
Data is information that can be analyzed and interpreted in order to develop a new knowledge or understanding of a topic.
- Qualitative data describes a perception about the qualities or characteristics of something, and usually takes the format of notes, audio, video, or transcripts. Qualitative data can be collected through observation, surveys, interviews, or focus groups.
- Quantitative data is numerical information and can be collected through measurement, surveys, or observations.
Chemistry uses both qualitative and quantitative data. Most of the data sources you will find on this page provide quantitative data about observed and measured phenomena. This data may be useful to you if you are seeking to understand more about particular chemical interactions, reaction mechanisms, chemical properties, and more! This data may also be useful if you are looking to conduct new analyses using previously collected information.
Chemical Property Resources at UH Libraries
UH Libraries provides access to comprehensive databases for chemical literature that can be used to find chemical and physical property information.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowSearch a wide range of property data resources, including Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, and Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowFind chemical and physical property data of all types, including thermodynamic data from the DIPPR project.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSearch by chemical to find property data for your material.
Free Chemical Information Resources on the Web
There are a number of free sources of chemical information on the web. Use the links below to access property data, safety information, energetics data, and more!
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is provided to the community by the Royal Society of Chemistry, and links together compound information across the web. Use free text and structure searching to access of millions of chemical structures and property information. Curate and use structure-based chemistry.
- ChemBioFinder.comSearch for chemical structures, formulas, densities, safety information, and more based on chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula, or weight.
- ChemExper Chemical DirectorySearch for chemical information by keywords, structure, or physical characteristics.
- MSDS Solution CenterSearch for material safety data sheets.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookSearch for thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- PubChemSearch for substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data.
- WolframAlpha: Computational Knowledge EngineExplore data about chemical compounds, the reactions they undergo, solubility and chemical graph theory. Learn about chemical quantities, unit conversion, molarity calculations, and stoichiometry.
- ChemIDplus AdvancedAccess structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system. This database contains chemical structure information, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure.