Modern & Classical Languages Resources
Film Studies
Many of the language programs at UH offer courses or somehow incorporate film studies into the curriculum. The resources on this page are valuable in the study and research of international films.
Key Research Tools
The following databases contain full text articles related to the study of film. You can access sources such as scholarly articles and reviews which are both historic and current.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for more than 240 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present, some dating as far back as 1915.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Streaming Video
- AVON This link opens in a new windowAcademic video online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street (a ProQuest Company) and includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video resource available to instructors wishing to use streaming video in their courses. To request access please use the Streaming Media Request form.
Films in the Library
Many of the films viewed and discussed in language classes are available at the Anderson Library. To locate them use the advanced keyword search in the catalog. Type the title of the movie into the search field and select Video as the material type.
These films are located on the first floor of the library in Access Services. They can be viewed in-house or checked out with your Cougar One Card.
e-Journals (Main Campus Users)
The following is a list of selected e-journals available via the UH Libraries website. If you wish to search or browse for others, go to the Electronic Journals List.
