Modern & Classical Languages Resources

Key Research Tools

The following core databases are useful for finding scholarly sources and full text articles related to various topics in Chinese Studies.

China Academic Journals Full Text
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915. As of September 2007, the full-text article count reached 23.5 million. UH Main campus users have access to Series F (Literature/ History/ Philosophy) and Series H (Education & Social Sciences).
Humanities Full Text
H.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 770 journals.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Chinese Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Our library has full-text access to:
Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy)
Series H (Education & Social Sciences)