Modern & Classical Languages Resources
Key Research Tools
The following databases are essential for locating journal articles and other full text sources associated with French Studies.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- African Writers Series This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Heinemann African Writers Series, including over 230 volumes of drama, poetry, fiction, and non-fiction by African writers.
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new windowThe ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowAccess to the searchable full text of more than 460 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
- Caribbean Newspapers. Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society. This link opens in a new windowContains 66 Caribbean newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowOver 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world; nearly one million are available in full text. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowHumanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 770 journals.
- JSTORA multidisciplinary, full-text archival collection of scholarly journals.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowIncludes in-depth, full-text profiles, photographs of the subjects, and up-to-date bibliographies. With coverage of news makers and figures of prominence from a wide range of fields.
Google Scholar
Archive Spotlight
Le Bayou is available in Special Collections on the 2nd floor of M. D. Anderson Library. The collection contains papers related to the publication of Le Bayou and includes subscription information, correspondence, and the submissions of both published and unpublished authors. It also includes the papers of Le Quartier Latin, the French Club of the University of Houston, and its publication Le Feuille de Chou. Materials in the Collection date from 1934-1964, and much of it is in the French language.