Skip to main content

SCM 4351 - Strategic Sourcing and Spend Analysis (Wayhan)

This guide was designed to help with the Halliburton Strategic Sourcing Competiton

Welcome

This guide was designed to help with the Halliburton Strategic Sourcing Competition.

Below you will find a list of specialized library resources as wells as some freely available government sources that will help you complete this assignment. 

If you need additional resources or help using/navigating the resources, please don't hesitate to contact me via email. 

Industry Analysis

IBISWorld - A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 700 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics, and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance, and 6-year forecasts. The US Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as ice-cream stores, auto glass repair, massage franchises, bridal stores, etc..

Business source complete - In addition to SWOT reports, industry news and press releases, Business Source Complete has a number of industry market research reports. 

ABI/Inform - The First Research industry reports and the Just-Series market research reports are great sources for information pertaining to market size and share.

Economic Census: Industry Snapshots - The Industry Snapshots provide statistics and ratios calculated from population estimates for the selected industry.

U.S. Census Industry Statistics Portal - This is a database of a number of key statistics tracked by the U.S. Census Bureau on U.S. industries.

Mergent Online - Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (~35,000 public companies and ~23 million private companies), including SEC filings (The US only) and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies. To search the ~23 million private companies, select D&B Private Company Database.

 

Market Research

Identify • Key buyers, suppliers, complementary industries, Regulations (tariffs, environmental constraints):

IBISWorld - A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 700 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics, and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance, and 6-year forecasts. The US Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as ice-cream stores, auto glass repair, massage franchises, bridal stores, etc.

Business source complete - Here you can find US and global industry reports (eg. Global Steel Industry Profile ).

 ABI/Inform - The First Research industry reports and the Just-Series market research reports are great sources for information pertaining to market size and share.