Medicine Resources

Resources available at the University of Houston Libraries.

Writing, Citing, and Publishing

This guide includes library and web resources of interest to Medical students and faculty. Navigate the pages of the guide by clicking the tabs on the left. Find links to relevant databases below.

Get in touch with your librarian for help - contact information is available to the left.

Manage Your Citations

EndNote Online
EndNote Online is a web-based citation management system that is offered free of charge by the UH Libraries to all UH students. This tool gives you the ability to collect references from print and online resources, organize your reference library, format citations so you can insert them into your research, and create bibliographies.
more...less...
EndNote Online may not be suitable for large or multiple projects. EndNote Online is a companion web version of the EndNote software tool. EndNote software is available at a discounted rate to UH students, faculty, and staff; and can be purchased through Cougar Byte.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] (for Windows, macOS, and Linux) is a free open-source software tool that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources; generate citations; and create bibliographies. Zotero works in conjunction with a browser extension (for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge).
RefWorks
RefWorks is an online citation management, writing, and collaboration system that is offered free of charge by the UH Libraries to all UH students, staff, and faculty. RefWorks helps you to organize and manage the references you consult during the research process as well as cite those references within your work.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free software tool (for Windows, macOS, and Linux) that is both a reference manager and an academic social network. It can help you organize your research, cite sources in Word, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It offers a reference importing extension for Chrome, Firefox, and Edge. Depending on your needs, you can choose to use the web version, the desktop application, or both.

Getting Help with Citation Management

Citation Managers such as EndNote, Zotero, RefWorks, and Mendeley are software tools for managing your citations. Citation managers will help you

Create and organize a personal research database
Download citations from online databases
Format bibliographies and citations in papers, and
Share your references with others

UH Libraries support EndNote Online, Zotero, RefWorks, and Mendeley, but there are many more available.

Publishing Resources

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
JCR ranks journals within subject areas; use JCR to decide where to submit an article for publication.
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Public Access Requirements for the NIH Supported Researcher
Learn how to comply with the NIH public access policy.
Scholarly Publishing (UH Libraries guide)
This UH Libraries guide provides information and resources related to the scholarly publishing process and how UH Libraries can support its community's authors across the scholarly publishing lifecycle.
Author Rights and Publishing Resources (UH Libraries)
This UH Libraries guide will help you understand and take control of your rights as the creator of new research and scholarship.

AMA Style Resources and Examples

AMA Manual of Style by The Jama Network Editors
Call Number: R119 .A533 2020
Publication Date: 2020
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age.

AMA style guide (University of Washington)
Guide to using AMA style, from the University of Washington Health Sciences Library.

University of Houston Libraries