SOCW 6305 - Social Work Research
Background on Theories/Reference Sources
Social work is an interdisciplinary profession, meaning it draws from a number of areas, such as (but not limited to) psychology, sociology, politics, criminology, economics, ecology, education, health, law, philosophy, anthropology, and counseling, including psychotherapy.
The online reference resources, and selected encyclopedia, dictionaries and handbooks listed below have been selected in order to help you get some general overview information as well as highlight values, principles, and techniques that inform the professional application of social work.
Online Reference Collections
- Gale eBooksMultidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.
- Oxford Reference OnlineThe Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource.
- Sage eReferenceSage e-Reference is a full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc.
Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks for Social Work
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Provides over 1,800 definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covers social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education.
Call Number: HV12 .H37 2018ISBN: 9780198796688
Encyclopedia of African American EducationISBN: 9781412940504
Encyclopedia of Disability
Over 1,000 entries across 4 volumes. Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
ISBN: 0761925651
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
Over 500 entries address social, medical, legal, and political issues related to substance use and addictive behavior. Topical entries cover historical and modern perspectives on drug, alcohol, and tobacco use in more than 30 countries and regions, including the Caribbean, the Middle East, and China.
ISBN: 9780028660646
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care
This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses more than 310 current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines.
ISBN: 9780826137357
Encyclopedia of Environment and SocietyISBN: 9781412927611
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional FacilitiesCall Number: HV9471 .E693 2005 v.1-2ISBN: 9780761927310
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Entries provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential people, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail.
Call Number: HV12 .E497 2005ISBN: 9780761925842
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
This Encyclopedia attempts to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Available in 26 volumes, it comprises 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Call Number: H41 .I58 2001 v.1 - v.26ISBN: 9780080430768
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food IssuesISBN: 9781452243016
The SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral SciencesISBN: 9781412951432
Social Workers' Desk Reference
Comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work.
ISBN: 9780190251482
Search
Finding a Research Topic
Selecting a topic you are interested in will make the time and energy you spend researching and writing about it more fruitful and rewarding. But sometimes deciding on a research topic can be tricky. Usually reference books (e.g., Encyclopedia of Social Work) or textbooks that go over a variety of topics in a discipline can help you generate ideas. It is also common that you need to either broaden or narrow down a topic during your research process. Keep in mind, when you have questions about finding information, your librarian is here to help you!
Other Reading
Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice
Links theory to practice with clear, concise instruction including a discussion of evidence-based practice. Includes case studies and first-person contributions from practicing social workers to illustrate the real-world scenarios in which different concepts apply.
ISBN: 9781118859711
