Supply Chain and Logistics Technology
Supply Chain Research
When researching supply chain information, it is helpful to find the NAICS code for the relevant industry. The federal government assigns these codes to business segments for data collection and reporting purposes. NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes were adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. Many research resources, such as databases, utilize NAICS codes for searching purposes. You can search many of the library databases by NAICS code to get industry information.
For example, if you want to analyze the Petrochemical industry, you would look up the 2022 NAICS code (324110) from the US Census Bureau link below.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS codes)The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Introduced in 1997 and continues to be updated.
Supply Chain Databases
The following databases are a good place to start to find articles, trade publications, magazines, reports, data, and other electronic resources that will give you more information on particular industries and their trends, as well as find information on potential suppliers:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on over 1,300 US industries including supply chain information on the market, historical and forecasted revenue data, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, the competitive landscape and major players, and industry profit and costs benchmarks. Also includes expert summary reports and specialized reports on niche industries. Search or browse industry reports by key word of NAICS code.
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect offers access to a wide range of business data -- private and public companies, U.S. and international based, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowCovers company SEC filings and business executive information.
Contains a wide variety of information about public and private companies, industries, countries and more. - Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowDirectory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.
- ThomasNet This link opens in a new windowFreely search information, including materials costs, about industrial products and services.
- MacRAE's Blue BookInformation on over 1,200,000 North American industrial companies with more than 2 million product listings indexed under more than 50,000 product headings.