This guide includes library and web resources of interest to medical students and faculty. Navigate the pages of the guide by clicking the tabs on the left. Find links to popular e-journals and other relevant resources below.

Get in touch with your librarian for help - contact information is available to the left.

Access to the literature is important for your learning and research. UH Libraries subscribes to a large number of journals in the health sciences. If we don't subscribe to the title you need, we can almost always get it for you via interlibrary loan.

Look below for instructions on accessing full text articles.

PubMed's publisher-provided links will often bring you to full text articles. However, if you are off campus and/or prompted to pay for an article, make sure to use UH's custom link (accessed through any library page) to ensure you'll see the options for our subscriptions and interlibrary loan (ILL) services. You can also bookmark it:

https://libraries.uh.edu/pubmed

When you are viewing the abstract of an article, click the "FindIt@UH" button to connect back to our full text (if we have it), or be prompted to submit an ILL request (if we don't have it).

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that allows you to authenticate and download PDFs wherever UH Libraries full text access is detected. The LibKey button appears in PubMed, on publisher websites, and even in Wikipedia references, as well as in some of our subscription databases. "Download PDF" or "Article Link" provides one-click full text access; "Access Options" helps you place an interlibrary loan request via ILLiad.

• Download LibKey Nomad for your browswer

After the plug-in has loaded, you'll need to select University of Houston as your affiliation.

LibKey Nomad Example

Browsing PubMed while the plug-in is activated will reveal additional features, such as a thumbnail image, full-text article link, and link to Browzine. Below are images depicting the user experience before and after LibKey Nomad is activated:

Without LibKey Nomad.

With LibKey Nomad. Note the indicator on the bottom-left, the thumbnail, article link, and BrowZine link.

Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to University of Houston Library resources.

The UH links appear as:

• Find it@UH or ProQuest Fulltext at the end of the article title if the Library subscribes to full text

These links will appear automatically if you are on UH wireless or the VPN. You may also set UH as your default library by going to:

Google Scholar library link settings→ search for University of Houston→ UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON MAIN LIBRARY – ProQuest Fulltext→ save settings.

Use BrowZine to browse tables of contents; read, save, and share articles; and get alerts when new issues of your essential journals are published. Create an account with your @central.uh.edu email to customize your experience on desktop or mobile app (iOS, Android, or Kindle Fire).