Mexican American & Latino/a Studies
Using Primary Sources
What are Primary Sources?
Primary sources are research materials that are considered to be as close to the origin of the topic of study as is probably available.
Some common examples of primary sources in social sciences and humanities research include:
- Diaries, Letters, or Ledgers
- Emails, Social Media Posts, or Photographs
- Newspaper Articles
- Clothing and other Personal Belongings
- Sound or Video Recordings
Primary sources can also include books, interviews, and more! Whether a source is considered primary depends on the research context.
UH Libraries has an extensive web guide on Primary Sources, especially as they relate to those that can be found in our Special Collections. Consult the guide on primary sources to learn more:
Where Can I Find Primary Sources?
Listed below are a few University of Houston resources for accessing primary source materials relevant to Mexican American and Latino/a Studies. If you are interested in additional primary sources pertaining to the Houston area, be sure to check out the Houston Area Resources section of this guide!
Special Collections
UH Libraries has a Special Collections department that stores and provides secure access to rare and unique materials, including archives, manuscripts, rare books, or other original materials. Most of these materials are considered primary sources, although sometimes that categorization depends on the context of your research.
Special Collections is located on the 2nd floor of the Blue Wing in M.D. Anderson Library, and has its own hours that are different than the rest of the library's hours.
The online lesson, How to Find Archival Materials in UH Special Collections, will help you to learn more about how to use the Special Collections at UH Libraries. The staff in Special Collections are also available to help you find primary source materials.
Online Databases
Depending on what you are looking for, you may be able to find valuable resources in our online database collections. The databases listed below are a selection of resources relevant to research in Mexican American and Latino/a Studies.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new windowNorth American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons. Never before have scholars been able to search these documents easily and find answers to complex questions with just a few clicks.
- Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new windowLatin American Newspapers provides a fully searchable collection of newspapers published in Latin America during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 This link opens in a new windowThe Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," from which the collection draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, series 2 This link opens in a new windowThe Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers and Thinkers presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers --including rare anarchist newspapers -- are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery. This collection focuses exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history in the United States.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new windowEarly Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials. Access over 100,000 published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com