Skip to main content

UH Dataverse Repository Quick Start Guide

Prepare your submission

  1. Dataset files must be 4GB or smaller for direct upload. For larger files, contact Research Data Management Librarian, Reid Boehm (riboehm@central.uh.edu).

  2. If your data requires special instructions, disclaimers, field definitions, codebooks, etc., please prepare a README.txt file to accompany your data.

  3. If you are depositing a large number of files, please compress them into a ZIP or TAR file before uploading to allow the uploader to process the files more quickly.

Log into the UH Dataverse Repository

  1. From the Texas Data Repository (TDR) main page, click the “Log In” button in the upper right corner.

  2. Select University of Houston from the institution drop-down menu and click “Continue.”

  3. You will be redirected to a UH Libraries page where you can log in using your Cougarnet ID and password.

  4. If it is your first time logging into the system, you will be asked to review and agree to the Texas Data Repository Terms of Use.

Create a Dataverse Collection

Creating your own sub-Dataverse Collection within the UH Dataverse Repository is like creating a folder for all of your current and future datasets.

 

  1. Navigate to the UH Dataverse Repository.

  2. Click the "Add Data" button on the right side of the screen, and select "New Dataverse" from the drop-down menu.

  3. Describe your Dataverse collection. At minimum, add the required fields, marked by an asterisk: Name or Dataverse collection title, Identifier (url shortcut for your Dataverse collection), Category, and Email. (For more information on a specific field, hover over the name of the field on the form. For more detailed instructions on describing your Dataverse collection, please see the Full Dataverse User Guide or contact Research Data Management Librarian Reid Boehm, riboehm@central.uh.edu, for assistance.)

  4. Choose the sets of metadata elements, or descriptive fields, for datasets in this Dataverse collection. By default, the metadata elements will be the same as the UH Dataverse Repository. These elements are general purpose. If you would like to choose a more specialized set of descriptors, see the Full Dataverse User Guide for more information or contact Research Data Management Librarian Reid Boehm, riboehm@central.uh.edu, for assistance. This can be changed at any time.

  5. Choose the Browse/Search Facets that will appear in this Dataverse collection. By default, the facets will be the same as the UH Dataverse Repository. This can be changed at any time.

  6. Click the “Create Dataverse” button. You may now add datasets to your Dataverse collection. However, neither your Dataverse nor the datasets it contains are visible to the public until you publish your Dataverse collection.

  7. Once your Dataverse collection is ready to be made public, go to your Dataverse collection page and click on the “Publish” button on the right hand side of the page. A pop-up window will appear to confirm that you are ready to publish.

a. Note: Once a Dataverse collection is made public, it can no longer be unpublished.

b. Note: A Dataverse collection must be published before a dataset within that Dataverse collection can be published.

c. Note: If you wish to have your dataset within a Dataverse collection you must create the Dataverse collection first. Datasets created prior  cannot be nested.

d. Note: Due to naming conventions for all Dataverse repositories, all sub Dataverse collections must use the Dataverse name as an adjective. For example "Reid Boehm Laboratory Dataverse Collection"

Deposit a new dataset

  1. Navigate to your Dataverse collection. If you’re unsure of whether you’re in your Dataverse collection, look at the page trail in the upper left hand area of the page. It should say “Texas Data Repository Dataverse > University of Houston Dataverse Repository > [Your Dataverse collection name here]”

    1. Note: if you are creating a dataset without first creating a Dataverse, you will need to do this on the University of Houston Dataverse Repository page (not from your "My Data" page.)

  2. Click the “Add Data” button on the right side of the screen, and select “New Dataset” from the drop-down menu.

  3. Describe your dataset. At minimum, add the required fields, marked by an asterisk: Title, Author(s), Contact(s), Description, Date, Subject, Production Date, Production Place, and Kind of Data.

    1. For more information on a particular metadata field, hover over the name of the field on the form.

    2. For more detailed instructions on describing your dataset, please see the UH Dataverse Repository Description Guidelines or contact Research Data Management Librarian Reid Boehm, riboehm@central.uh.edu, for assistance.

  4. Upload files to your dataset.

  5. Click the “Save” button.

  6. Your dataset will appear as an unpublished draft. You can review your submission and make edits as necessary.

    1. UH Dataverse Repository users and groups can be granted permissions to access unpublished datasets. See Share an unpublished dataset for more information.

    2. NOTE: Once you publish your dataset, it cannot be unpublished, but it can be edited or deaccessioned if necessary. Make sure that you are ready to make your dataset available to the public before you click “Publish.”

  7. Click the “Publish” button to publish your dataset.