Art Resources
Key Resources: IPEF
It may be appropriate for IPEF (Interdisciplinary Practices and Emerging Forms) researchers to consult another collection or subject specialist. There are three branches of the UH Libraries system: Architecture & Art, Music, and Optometry. A library in the UH Law Center is also open to all students. The collections and librarians for all other disciplines may be found in the M.D. Anderson Library. Contact the Architecture and Art Library when in need of a referral.
Articles and Data on Manufacturing, Engineering, and Design
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publicationsnow with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.Coverage dates:Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1994+, "select" Full Text 1997+
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Subject coverage is the same as that for Art Full Text.
- Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center This link opens in a new windowAccess information on popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities. Subject areas include arts & crafts; games & electronics; models; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & paper craft.
- Home Improvement Reference Center This link opens in a new windowHome improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields
Art supplies
Students may borrow non-consumable art & design supplies from the library. Students may check-out these items at the service desk or ask a staff member for assistance.
Supply List:
- T-squares
- Architectural rulers
- Choppers
- Drafting ruler sets
- Drawing boards
- X-ACTO knife sets
Search
Material ConneXion
 |
|
Access the world's largest resource for advanced, innovative and sustainable materials and processes by clicking on the logo above. |
Call Numbers box
M Music
N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
P Language and literature
Q Science (General)
S Agriculture
SB Plant culture. Landscape architecture
T Technology (General)
TA Engineering (General). Civil engineering
TD Environmental technology
TJ Mechanical engineering and machinery
TK Electrical engineering. Electronics.
TP Chemical technology
TR Photography
TS Manufactures
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
Z f-115.5 Books (General). Writing. Paleography.