CUIN 7303 - Professional Seminar I
Welcome!
Welcome to the library guide for CUIN 7303. This guide serves as a reference for engaging with information relevant to educational research as well as interacting with various data sources and visualization tools.
Databases
UH Libraries provides access to data sources for a variety of interests. Listed below are databases relevant to education topic areas.
(If you are off campus, you will be prompted for your Cougarnet credentials.)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. You will need to register for a free account with Social Explorer to use the database.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowReference Solutions provides directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising.
Texas School Information
The Texas Education Agency (TEA) is a valuable resource for accessing information about the K-12 education landscape in Texas. While the TEA website offers a wealth of information aggregated on a state level, it is sometimes necessary to look at the more granular data available via individual school district websites.
- Texas Education Agency - Reports and DataThe TEA collates data across the state of Texas about various aspects of education, including school profiles, educator information, performance, finances, etc. Many of these points can be isolated to the school or district level. One of the important and detailed reports you can get here are the TAPR reports.
- Houston ISD - Research and AccountabilityResearch and Accountability is the division of HISD where you can get data on the district and schools within it. There is overlap with TEA, but sometimes it can be easier to get data about schools and the district separately by looking at the district's data.
- Aldine ISD - AccountabilityThe Accountability section of the Aldine website provides access to district and campus level performance data. Sometimes looking at the data at the district level can provide more context for the data that is missing when aggregated at the state level.
- Alief ISD - AccountabilityThe accountability office for Alief provides district level reports on school performance. The district also links back to the TEA for some reports
Data Sources by Equity Domain
Equity Domain A: Teachers
What are the ways in which inequity may appear in teacher data sources?
- State TEA: district wide salary data, teachers by program/content area, certification pathway.
- District Accountability/School Profile Data: (See above links to specific districts) years of experience, advanced degree, attendance, race and gender (Some districts may refer you to the TEA for their reports instead of hosting them)
Equity Domain B: Students
What are the ways in which inequity may appear in student data sources?
- State TEA: representation of various disabilities, breakdowns on performance and discipline by racial and other student characteristics
- District Accountability/School Profile Data: (See above links to specific districts) attendance, graduation, disciplinary action,
Equity Domain C: School
What are the ways in which inequity may appear in school data sources?
- State TEA: District level financial data, more detailed AP/program offering
- District Accountability/School Profile Data: (See above links to specific districts) access to technology, AP course offering, after-school programming
Equity Domain D Geographic Community
What are the ways in which inequity may appear in community data sources?
- Reference USA: number of businesses, number of employees, industry, job listing
- Social Explorer: household income, educational attainment, home ownership, employment, language spoken at home
Search
Need More Help?
