Check out Jove-- our new database of videos of experiments
Create your research paper's bibliography quickly and easily......
Supports hundreds of databases and format styles, such as APA, etc. You can easily export your citations from a database directly into RefWorks, and then easily create your bibliography. More informatiion about RefWorks
Another good tool that allows you to gather citations from research articles and then easily create a bibliography formated in the latest APA style format.
Use these databases to find research articles about your topic.
UH Libraries Has recently purchased this database for a 3 year trial as of September, 2011
This is the major database for all medical research areas.
- Academic Search Complete
A good database to start with because many of the articles are available electronically full-text, and the database searches over 10,000 publications.
Pubget provides full-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences for open access journals and journals to which the University of Houston subscribes, including those in PubMed.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
A very good all around medical database. Contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Basically the same as PubMed, but repackaged in a more user friendly format.
- SCOPUS [Requires HAM-TMC Login]
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly.
- SciFinder Scholar
This database also allows you to draw a chemical structure and then find articles about that structure. You can also search by a chemical formula.
Use these databases to locate drug monograph information, plus physical and chemical properites of specific drugs such as adverse effect, dosage form, molecular formula, solubility, stucture, etc.
- Access Pharmacy
Provides access to medical textbooks, drug monographs, herb and supplements. Also offers a fairly comprehensive medical calculator. Information on specific drugs include: pharmacology, adverse effects, dosing, usage, storage and compatibility, plus more..
Provides the full text of nearly 100 medical and pharmaceutical reference works. STATRef provides information about diagnosis, treatments, drug interactions and uses, and patient referrals.
- MICROMEDEX [Requires HAM-TMC Login]
Provides standard drug information, plus good section for drug identification, drug interaction, and drugs IV compatibility. Allows you to compare drugs together for compatability. Provides pricing information.
- Lexicomp [Requires UH College of Pharmacy Student Login]
Provides useful data on drugs such as interactions and I.V. compatibilities. Also provides a drug identifier tool and a nice fill-in-the blanks medical calculations tool similar to Access Pharmacy.
- Drug Information Full Text
Provides individual drug information on concentration, usage, stability, pH, dosage, administration, compatability, chemistry, pharmacology, interactions and toxicity
- ChemID Plus
Provides Registry Numbers (RN), formulas, structure diagrams and other physical properties of Drugs and chemicals
- FDA -- Drugs
U.S. FDA web site that gives all kinds of information about drugs-- including recently approved drugs, drugs recalled, The Orange Book, and the National Drug Code Directory.
- Clinical Trials.gov
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers.
- Orange Book (FDA Approved Drugs)
A good resource for finding a list of the latest drugs approved for consumer use by the FDA. In order to provide timely consumer information on generic drugs, the Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new
A commercial web site that offers a handy "pill identifier" option, along with other useful information about individual drugs.