Welcome
This guide provides Internet Resources, databases and other research tools that will help you locate information on Communication Disorders.
For a subject guide for students in COMD 6361 CLICK HERE

National Mall-- Washington, D.C
Internet Resources
- Texas Society of Interpreters for the Deaf
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID)
- National Deaf Children's Society
- Academy of Aphasia (AA)
- American Academy of Audiology
- American Institute for Stuttering
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
- National Aphasia Association (NAA)
- Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology (ARA)
- Educational Audiology Association
- National Student Speech Language Hearing Association
- DeafLinx.com
Finding Journal Articles
Many of the following databases provide the full-text of articles. I would suggest starting with Academic Search Complete, and then supplement your search with the other databases listed based on your area of focus.
- Academic Search Complete A good database to start with because many of the articles are available electronically full-text, and the database searches over 10,000 publications.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Good database covering most areas of communication disorders.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Another good all around database that not only covers journal articles but also conferences, websites and books.
- PubMedExcellent government database covering all medical aspects.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) Same database as PubMed-- but this version may be easier to use.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text Another good database if your topic is medically related.
- PsycARTICLES Good for topics that have a psychological focus-- such as "how stuttering effects self esteem", etc, etc.
- PsycINFOAnother database to try if your topic has a psychological slant.
- Web of Science Offers citation approach to searching.
- SCOPUS UH Libraries Has recently purchased this database for a 3 year trial as of September, 2011
Dictionaries/Handbooks/Encyclopedias
- Concise encyclopedia of language pathology
- The encyclopedia of deafness and hearing disorders
- Terminology of communication disorders : speech-language-hearing
- Handbook of Stuttering
- Workbook for aphasia
- Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness
- Handbook of speech-language, pathology, and audiology
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Bibliography Tools
RefWorks
Supports hundreds of databases and format styles, such as APA, etc. You can easily export your citations from a database directly into RefWorks, and then easily create your bibliography. More informatiion about RefWorks
EndNote Web
Another good tool that allows you to gather citations from research articles and then easily create a bibliography formated in the latest APA style format.


Loading...
