Guides: Scholarly Publishing: Advice from Publishers &amp; Practitioners

Advice from Publisher & Practitioners

Table of Contents:

Advice for Authors

These web-based tutorials contain extensive advice from some major scholarly publishing companies. In these tutorials, you will learn the steps on how to get your research published, from selecting an appropriate journal, preparing a manuscript, to what the editors look for, and how to communicate with them.

American Chemical Society: Publishing Process
ACS Author University is an extensive training program for junior researchers and scholars. It provides videos and articles on tips for scientific writing, securing funding, rejection, and much more.
Elsevier: Publishing with Elsevier
Elsevier is an international scholarly publishing company. It published around 3,100academic journals. This tutorial helps you to identify the journal for your manuscript and increase publication success.
IEEE: Author Center
This site provides extensive training materials for IEEE authors, from writing, publishing to data reporting and authorship.
SpringerNature: How to submit a journal article manuscript
This is a tutorial from SpringerNature, a major academic publishing company. It publishes more than 3,200 journals. This tutorial provides advice to authors from preparing a manuscript to avoiding pitfalls.
Taylor & Francis: Author servcies
Taylor & Francis is another big academic publishing company. This guide provides step-by-step instructions on how to publish with them.
Wiley: Guide for journal authors
This site walks authors through the entire process of publishing journal articles with Wiley, from selecting a journal, preparing a manuscript, to submission and peer view. It also provides information about Wiley's open access options.

Advice for Peer Reviewers

The following sites are designed to provide guidance and related information to peer-reviewers. This information not only helps reviewers, authors can find out how their articles are reviewed by their peers.

American Chemical Society: ACS Reviewer Lab
ACS Reviewer Lab™ is a free peer review training course. The course provides guidance on ethical peer review, evaluation criteria, and writing a quality review. You will need to use an ACS ID to gain access, which you can request for free.
PLOS: How to write a peer-review
PLOS is an open-access journal publisher in science, technology, and medicine and other scientific literature, under an open-content license. This guide provides quick tips on how to write and organize a review report.
Wiley: How to perform peer-review
Wiley is a major academic publisher. This is a step by step guide to help reviewers conduct a peer review.

Advice from the Field

Here is the advice offered by experienced authors and reviewers. These articles were published in Insight Higher Ed and Chronicle of Higher Education.

25 Ways to Increase Your Chances at Publication
Written by Laura Moss, a professor of English in the department of English language and literature at the University of British Columbia. She provides actionable suggestions for enhancing your publication prospects.
A beginner's guide to peer-review system (gradhacker)
Written by Carolyn Trietsch, a Ph.D. candidate in Entomology at Penn State. A candid overview from a Ph.D. candidate on becoming a peer reviewer.
Publishing Journal Articles: Tips for Early-Career Scholars
Written by Keisha N. Blain, who draws on her experiences and observations as a writer, reviewer, editor and editorial board member to offer several practical strategies.