Nutrition Resources

Welcome to the Nutrition Research Guide. Within this guide, you will find information and links to Nutrition-related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research.

Home

This guide includes library and web resources of interest to Nutrition students and faculty. Navigate the pages of the guide by clicking the tabs on the left. Find links to relevant databases below.

Get in touch with your librarian for help - contact information is available to the left.

Core Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Agriculture database that searches for articles and books in all areas of agriculture, forestry and animal science. 1970-present.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is an Internet-based diet manual and professional practice manual for registered dietitian nutritionists; nutrition and dietetics technicians, registered and allied health professionals. NCM gives you online access to evidence- and knowledge-based nutrition information that keeps you current and compliant.

Academic / Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window

Biomedical / Health Sciences Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window

Nursing and allied health information

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Health Source, Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window

Covers sports, sports medicine, and exercise science journals and magazines

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref has authoritative medical, nursing and allied health information. Includes evidence based information, eBooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, anatomy flash cards, and board test prep. Covers coding, drug information, emergency care, nursing and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window

Business Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Databases This link opens in a new window

Education Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

Clinical Databases

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool of more than 3000 topics designed for physicians and health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journal and systemic evidence review databases.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care clinical resource. Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.

University of Houston Libraries