Career Resources
Exploring Career Options
Before you start applying to jobs, it's important to consider what kind of career you're interested in. Much like how you would do research before picking a topic for a paper, you'll want to do some research first before settling on possible career options. And just like the research process for a class assignment, you might find yourself changing your mind about which direction to go in as you find new information. That's normal! Remember that nothing is set in stone.
Use the following resources to find out more about different careers you might be interested:
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Find: the training and education needed, potential earning, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, working conditions.
- Job & Career Accelerator This link opens in a new windowFind the job that's perfect for you! Job & Career Accelerator guides you through every step of the search process and help make your career goals a reality. Create your own account.
- Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new windowFor vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. Full-text coverage for trade and industry related periodicals.
Preparing for Careers
As you are research different careers and weighing your options, you might find that you need to take specific tests, get special certification, or have particular skills for some careers. It's important to be well-prepared before pursuing any career, and the following resources can help you prepare and learn more:
- LearningExpressLibrary This link opens in a new windowNeed to Register for Login
Online guide to test preparation in basic skills and career advancement. Includes practice tests for: academic, advanced placement, basic skills success, civil service, college preparation, cosmotology, EMS, ESL (Spanish) skills improvment courses, firefighter, GED, graduate school entrance, law enforment, military, real estate, skills improvment courses, teacher certification, technical and career college, and US citizenship. - O’Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window**Vendor requires registration on the website to access content.**
Includes the contents of the Safari Basic Tech Library. Focused specifically on technology, the Safari Basic Tech Library provides access to a collection of books from a variety of technology publishers, such as O’Reilly Media, John Wiley & Sons, Cisco Press, Manning, Apress, Microsoft Press, New Riders, Adobe Press, Packt Publishing, Que, Wrox, Sams, Pearson Certification and more.
