The book addresses the problems that most doctoral researchers experience during their candidature - being unclear about their contribution, feeling lost in the literature, feeling like an imposter, not knowing how to write with authority, wanting to edit rather than revise. Each chapter addresses a problem and offers strategies designed to address the real issue.
This book takes an integrated, down-to-earth approach to guide readers step-by-step towards productive success. Early chapters frame the tasks ahead and show how to get started. From there, it provides practical advice and illustrations that take one through all elements of thesis writing.
This book offers insight regarding the entire research process, from organizing your literature and materials to preparing for defense. You will gain a strong understanding of the difference between a thesis and a dissertation, and grasp the components expected of your work.
This guide reveals the distinct set of skills, conventions, and methods of essay and dissertation writing. Taking students through the various stages of writing, from planning to final submission, it offers specific guidelines and a lively, detailed commentary on actual examples of student work at each stage.
This short book from an international, best-selling author offers a practical guide to conceiving, researching and writing a business or management dissertation. Topics covered include collecting and measuring data, using business statistics, planning research projects and the real mechanics of writing a dissertation.
This book is a lively guide to academic writing. The author showcases a range of scholars from the sciences, humanities, and social sciences who write with vividness and panache. Individual chapters take up specific elements of style, such as titles and headings, chapter openings, and structure, and close with examples of transferable techniques that any writer can master.
This book offers a clear account of how to produce, finish, and submit a successful thesis. The authors draw on their experience as writing coaches to provide ways of thinking, and tools for one to feel more in control of the practices of writing about research.
This guide helps you determine their research topic, choose appropriate methods, turn a hypothesis into a study, complete a literature review, write and defend a proposal, collect and analyze data, write up the study, and ultimately defend your dissertation. Building on years of experience with their own doctoral students, the authors have developed an extremely comprehensive, yet easy-to-use tool.
The book shows how productive writing faculty draw on their disciplinary knowledge to adopt attitudes and strategies that not only increase their chances of successful publication but also cultivate writing habits that sustain them over the course of their academic careers.
Many international students find writing good academic English a demanding task. This book is to help international students build confidence and skills. There four main parts of the book: writing process, elements of writing, vocabulary, and writing models. Each contains examples, explanations, and exercises.
This book presents comprehensive coverage of the entire dissertation process, from selecting a committee and choosing a research topic to conducting the research and writing and defending your dissertation.
Nearly 500,000 people who start a graduate program each year, up to half will never complete their degree. This book takes a wry, frank approach, explains the common mistakes that can trip up a new student and lay out practical advice about how to avoid the pitfalls.
This is a hands-on guide for graduate students wishing to perfect the practical skills needed for a successful research career. It provides a wealth of advice invaluable to students, junior researchers, and mentors.
This book offers a clear and user-friendly map to the academic maze. Drawing on decades of experience in academia, the author provides a comprehensive, empirically grounded, and practical guide to academic life.
This is an all-in-one resource for graduate students in the sciences. It helps readers navigate the multidimensional and interdisciplinary world of scientific research, and discusses a broad range of topics from time management to grant support.
Filled with practical advice on getting started, communicating with your supervisor, staying the course, and planning for the future, this book is a handy guide for graduate students who need that extra bit of help getting started and making it through.
This co-edited book provides doctoral candidates with a practical, cross-discipline handbook for successfully navigating the doctoral process. Each chapter includes strategies for success and practical tips.
This book is designed to help international students navigate the myriad issues they will encounter while studying in a foreign country, from picking a program to landing a campus job. This is a practical guide for students to succeed, in and out of the classroom.