Guides: Finding Data: Library data resources

Data resources from UH Libraries

Linked below are library data resources. Each tab categorizes the data sources according to discipline. Use them to find hundreds of datasets on a variety of topics ranging international from trade statistics to marketing data.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Sage Data provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 185+ billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Sage Data repository. Sage Data offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Must first create a login to access off-campus

ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
MarketResearch.com Academic provides libraries with the same vital information used by business professionals around the globe. Top companies rely on us. Our reports help executives, managers, and entrepreneurs drive strategies in both major industries and niche markets. Now librarians, students, faculty, administration, and other library patrons can have access to the same world-class business information.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics, a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 election data, and D&B's points-of-interest business file providing detailed information on over 5 million businesses. Additionally, users have access to the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands. Other premium datasets include the PRIZM Premier, ConneXions and P$YCLE segmentation systems providing data on lifestyle characteristics, tech usage and finances, respectively. The Retail Market Power and Consumer Buying Power datasets enable researchers to understand retail spending, demand, and potential for spending across hundreds of expenditures and stores. UH also subscribes to premium health survey data. Data is available down to the census block group level for most variables.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database.

Users can request access for the datasets below:

Nielsen marketing dataset from Kilts Center for Marketing at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business
The Nielsen datasets at the Kilts Center for Marketing is a relationship between the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and the Nielsen Company and makes comprehensive marketing datasets available to academic researchers around the world. Data included in the Nielsen datasets are Consumer Panel Data and Retail Scanner Data.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
WRDS provides access to financial, accounting, banking, economics, marketing, and public policy databases through a uniform, web-based interface. Strengths include deep archives of historical data, a common web interface for access to all WRDS databases, and a variety of output file formats.

Inorganic Crystal Structure Database This link opens in a new window
Collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913 to present.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. The database originally combined data from the Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Patent Chemistry Database and is now updated directly from the source literature.

ARTstor
A nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
As a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections. Must create a personal account to use the research center.

JSTOR Data for Research

Data for Research (DfR) provides datasets of content on JSTOR for use in research and teaching. Researchers may use DfR to define and submit their desired dataset to be automatically processed. Data available through the service includes metadata, n-grams, and word counts for most articles and book chapters, and for all research reports and pamphlets on JSTOR. Datasets are produced at no cost to researchers and may include data for up to 25,000 documents.

IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
IMF eLibrary Data Includes domestic and international financial data from the International Financial Statistics as well as Government Finance Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Balance of Payments, African Regional Economic Outlook, and more.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
The IMF International Financial Statistics database contains information on economic topics including: balance of payments, banking and financial systems, labor, exchange rates, fund position, government finance, interest rates, international liquidity, national accounts, population, prices, production and trade.
WDI Online This link opens in a new window
WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 800 development indicators, with time series for over 200 countries. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.