A Handbook of Diction for Singers is a complete guide to achieving professional levels of diction in Italian, German, and French, the three major languages of the classical vocal repertory.

A comprehensive guide to diction for singers.

The Ring of Words assembles lyrics of the most famous art songs of Europe with literal line-by-line English translations printed on the facing pages.

A guide to the pronunciation of the principal European languages and regional varieties of Latin during the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

A guide to Italian, Latin, French, and German diction with exercises for pronunciation.

This classic test first published in 1966 has withstood the test of time as a teaching aid for English-speaking singers, coaches, and accompanists, in order that their art may be more communicative to the public. This word-by-word translation allows the artist to properly interpret and express the feelings and emotions that the words require at the proper time.

A guide to Czech lyric diction and vocal repertoire.

Includes song texts from Dvorak and Smetana.

Covering aspects of phonetics from vowels to diphthongs to fricatives, the book includes multiple practical exercises in International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)transcriptions, helpful diagrams, and pronunciation drills, each chosen from the most essential English art song and operatic repertoire. In addition to standard American and British English, a variety of regional dialects and accents are covered in depth. A companion website features a full rangeof vowel/consonant drills, poems read aloud by the author and veteran theater and voiceover actor John Keating, as well as an instructor's answer key, and publishers' lists to help the singer locate a vast array of English language works for performance.

A guide to American English diction.

Guides performers in singing clearly without the use of regional accents and incorrect pronunciations.

A Manual of French Diction and French Vocal repertoire.

A graded method of phonetic transcription which employs frequently used words from French art song literature.

Texts of nearly 200 songs are given in French, with line-for-line verse translations by Winifred Radford, notes on pronunciation, and simple but detailed suggestion for performance and interpretation.

A reference for singers, teachers and vocal and operatic coaches, this volume contains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano of Chausson, Debussy, Duparc, Faure and Ravel.

This completely revised second edition contains the most recent discoveries in the composer's oeuvre, including a number of hitherto unknown songs. The texts of all Debussy's songs, both in the original French and with revised English translations on the facing page, are collected in chronological order, with notes and location of sources.

The complete songs of Debussy rendered into IPA and word-for-word English translations.

An examination of Faure's art songs.

An in depth look at the songs of Maurice Ravel.

German for Singers is a systematic, easy-to-use approach to mastering German diction, including a full range of exercises as well as all the information singers need to develop their own methods for dealing with German vocal literature.

This book provides the German texts of the most frequently studied and performed songs, and gives literal, word-for-word translations under each line, plus clear English prose versions of each poem.

This is an essential anthology for concert-goers, record collectors and all lovers of German music and poetry.

This new translation of the original texts of over 750 songs allows the reader to follow, line by line, the English directly opposite the German. "

A volume containing solo songs, duets, Liebeslieder waltzes (both sets), the Alto rhapsody, and folk song arrangements with International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions, word for word translations, and commentary by Beaumont Glass.

Texts of the lieder and Italian songs

Literal, word-by-word translations under the original Italian and poetic translations (both non-singing) of the texts of the arias from the collection compiled by Alessandro Parisotti published by Ricordi, 1885-1900.

A guidebook for singing in Italian.

A guide for operatic Italian.

An invaluable reference text for singers, teachers, and vocal and operatic coaches, this volume contains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano of Bellini, Donaudy, Donizetti, Puccini, Rossini, Tosti, and Verdi, with word-by-word and poetic translations.

Phonetic readings, word-by-word translations, and a concise guide to Russian diction

The complete songs of Rachmaninoff rendered into IPA and word-for-word English translations.

With international phonetic alphabet transcriptions and word-for-word translations, including a guide to the IPA and Russian lyric diction.