Organizational Leadership and Supervision Resources (TELS)

All courses with the acronym TELS (Technology Leadership & Supervision) will find the resources within this guide useful.

Databases - Source of Articles and Journals

A CougarNet Login is required to access all of the University of Houston Libraries electronic resources off-campus or when using the UH wireless network. Questions about CougarNet? Contact the UH Information Technology department: (713) 743-1411 or http://www.uh.edu/infotech/

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database, providing full-text context.
Includes Harvard Business Review Case Studies (1922 - Present) and MarketLine SWOT analyses.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
It provides links to full text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.

Education Full Text
Lit searches need to be comprehensive. No matter how big one database is, other databases will have different coverage of journals/publications so to say you've truly scoured the literature for information on your topic, you'll want to try multiple databases. Especially when it comes to multidisciplinary topics!

Education Full Text is a good database to include for additional coverage in education.
more...less...
Education Full Text provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, is available for hundreds of journals, and coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC's CIJE. Subjects covered include Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education.
Education Research Complete
Every database has different journals covered in it. It's a good idea to try other databases. There can be different focus areas that means you may find more on your topic on one than the other. Education Resource Complete is a great complement to ERIC for scholarly education coverage.
more...less...
Education Research Complete offers a collection of full text education journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text archival collection of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Business, Economics, Finance, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy & Administration, Statistics.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Excellent resource for business research.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles, handbooks and reference works in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
The world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

American Society for Quality (ASQ) Journals

Full-text online access to 6 out of the 8 American Society for Quality (ASQ) journals:

Quality Progress (1994 - present)
ASQ’s flagship publication, read by more people than any other magazine on quality, features in-depth articles describing the application of innovative methods. Topics include knowledge management, process improvement and organizational behavior.
Journal for Quality and Participation (1992 - present)
Offers in-depth, comprehensive articles about employee involvement, teamwork, leadership, change management and more.
Journal of Quality Technology (1997 - present)
https://uh.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHO_INST/1m13ils/alma991033898757905701
Quality Engineering (3/01/2001 - 18 mos. ago)
Co-published with Taylor & Francis, this journal examines in-depth, practical applications of quality technology for engineers.
Quality Management Journal (2002 - present)
A source for practical application of quality research in the broad field of management.
Technometrics (1959 - present)
Published in conjunction with the American Statistical Association, this journal focuses on statistics for the physical, chemical and engineering sciences.