Hispanic Studies Resources

Key Research Tools

The following databases are essential research tools for Spanish, Hispanic Studies, and Latin American Studies. Content is both historic and current and contains a wealth of scholarly information.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

ClasePeriodica
Clase indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. The combined ClasePeriodica database indexes over 2,600 sources published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Sources include journal articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 countries of Latin America.

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America and the Latin-American experience in the Americas; includes in-depth ethnic-studies information and provides access to web sites on related topics.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature (LALI) contains approximately 186 plays and 33,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, so representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database offers content from a variety of sources, including images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarship inside and outside academia. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries, including El Comercio (Perú), El Mercurio (Chile), and El Tiempo (Colombia). Also includes full-text magazines People en Español, Entrepreneur México, Contenido and Impacto Latin News.

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
The Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important plays of the sixteenth and seventeenth century in Spain, either edited by the playwrights themselves or by an editor endorsed by the playwright. The interface is available in English and Spanish.