Skip to main content

Citation Styles

Chicago Manual of Style

The M.D. Anderson Library keeps a print copy of the latest Chicago Manual of Style at the Service Desk (1st Floor). Copy also available for check-out.

Turabian Manual for Writers

The M.D. Anderson Library keeps a print copy of the latest Turabian Manual at the Service Desk (1st Floor). Copies also available for check-out.

Chicago & Turabian Style Help Online

Quick Guide: Notes & Reference List

CHICAGO

SOURCE TYPE EXAMPLE
BOOKS: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES

      1. Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (City of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

BOOKS: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book.City of publication: Publisher, Year of

      publication.

PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES       1. Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of publication): pages.
PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of       publication): pages.
ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES       1. Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of publication): pages, accessed Month Day, Year, http://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/ (or) doi: 0000000/000000000000
ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of       publication): pages. Accessed Month Day, Year. http://www.journalhomepage.com       /full/url/ (or) doi: 0000000/000000000000.
WEBSITES: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES*       1. Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Webpage," Title of Website, last modified Month Day, Year, http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/.
WEBSITES: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES* Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website. Last modified  Month       Day, Year.http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/.

*Provide as much information as you have available.

TURABIAN

SOURCE TYPE EXAMPLE
BOOKS: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES       1. Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (City of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
BOOKS: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City of publication: Publisher, Year of       publication.
PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES       1. Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of publication): pages.
PRINT JOURNAL ARTICLES: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of       publication): pages.
ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES        1. Author Firstname Lastname et. al., "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, no. issue (Year of publication), http://www.journalhomepage.com/full/url/ (accessed Month Day, Year).
ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES Author Lastname, Firstname, Author Firstname Lastname, Author Firstname Lastname,       Author Firstname Lastname, and Author Firstname Lastname. "Title of Article." Title       of Journal volume, no. issue (Month Day, Year), http://www.journalhomepage.com       /full/url/ (accessed Month Day, Year).
WEBSITES: FOOTNOTES & ENDNOTES*       1. Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Webpage," Title of Website, http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/ (accessed Month Day, Year).
WEBSITES: BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRIES* Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website.       http://www.webaddress.com/full/url/(accessed Month Day, Year).


*Provide as much information as you have available.

Chicago vs. Turabian

Are Chicago and Turabian Styles the Same?

Yes and no. The citation formats for various source types are often similar or the same in both Chicago and Turabian styles because the Turabian Manual for Writers is based off of the Chicago Manual of style. However, the Turabian Manual for Writers includes a few modifications to meet the unique needs of student writers. If you are unsure which of the two manuals you should use, consult your instructor.

What Are Some Other Similarities I Should Know About?

Writers following Chicago or Turabian formatting and citation rules can opt to use either a bibliography citation style or a parenthetical (author-date) citation style. The examples above are reflective of a bibliographic citation style that is often used in literature, history, and the arts. For examples of parenthetical citations (which are often used for the physical, natural, and social sciences), visit the Purdue OWL's Chicago Manual of Style "General Format" guide and the "Turabian Quick Guide."