Architecture Resources
Find Images
These databases offer very high-resolution images, as well as descriptive information. Some include tools that allow users to zoom, pan and rotate images before printing or saving.
In addition to a large number of architectural photographs and drawings, Artstor contains the Avery Library/GSAPP (Columbia University) Architectural Plans and Sections Collection.
Search Subjects -- Bridgeman Standard Classification -- Architecture to find thousands of high-resolution images of, chiefly, Western architecture in Bridgeman Education. There are nearly 2000 images of church architecture and more than 4000 on "ceilings, friezes, murals and plans."
Architecture in the UH Digital Library
The UH Digital Library features material from the Kenneth Franzheim II Rare Books Room in the Architecture and Art Library and from Special Collections in the M.D. Anderson Library. Architectural collections include Historic Houston Photographs, as well as the architectural drawings & photographs of
Donald Barthelme Kenneth Franzheim Lucian T. Hood & Burdette Keeland
Free Online Image Collections
- Commons on FlickrA joint project between Flickr and The Library of Congress, with the goal of increasing access to publicly-held photography collections.
- Creative CommonsA non-profit that allows users to share their photographs and use others' photographs, while still allowing photographers to retain their copyright.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaA program that makes publicly accessible the collections of libraries, archives and museums.
- VADSFree art and design images for education, sponsored by the University of Creative Arts in the United Kingdom.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia's database of shared user-produced image files.
When all else fails, use Google Image Search, Bing Image Search, or another image-only search engine.