ENGI 1100
Research Databases
Research databases are a great place to start your research and contain the academically rigorous sources that your professors expect. The video below will take you on a quick tour through Web of Science, a STEM focused research database. At the bottom of the page is a list of research databases where you can get started with your research.
- Evaluating Information Sources LessonUse this lesson to learn how to evaluate the sources you find during your research process.
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Because there are so many library databases, it may feel overwhelming when you are trying to decide where to start. Some databases can have broad coverage and include sources from a number of different disciplines. Other databases might be more narrow in scope, focusing on a particular subject area. Usually it's better to start with a broader database and then later move on to one with a narrower scope as you gather more information. The following databases are a good place to start to find scholarly articles, newspaper articles, research data, and more:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Search
Need More Help?
