How to Find the Right Journal for Your Work
Choosing the right journal increases your chances of publication and ensures your work reaches the right audience. Journal evaluation tools and Journal matching tools will help you identify and evaluate journals in your field. Please contact subject librarians or Xiao Zeng, Open Publishing Librarian, if you have questions about accessing or using these resources.
Journal Evaluation Tools
These tools help you learn more about a journal's scope, influence, credibility, and publishing practices.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDirectory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high-quality, peer-reviewed open access journals across various disciplines.
-
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports measures the research influence of journals through impact factor, journal ranking, aggregate impact factor, and other types of journal metrics for journals in the field of sciences and social sciences.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an excellent resource for finding scholarly articles on almost any topic. But in addition to being a bibliographical database, Scopus also provides research impact metrics, such as cite score, SNIP, and SJR of journals, which are different ways of measuring journals influence.
-
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a comprehensive directory of journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and other serial publications from around the world. It provides bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types. This resource can tell you which databases include specific journals.
Journal Matching Tools
These tools suggest potential journals based on your article’s title, abstract, or keywords. Great for finding journals that publish similar research.
-
Edanz Journal SelectorEnter a description or an abstract of your article, the system would find possible journals that have published relevant papers. It searches over 28,652 journals and 12 million abstracts. Edanz is a company established in Japan. It helps researchers publish in international journals.
-
Elsevier Journal FinderThe Journal Finder uses smart search technology and field-of-research specific vocabularies to match your article to Elsevier journals. It searches among more than 2,500 journals published by Elsevier.
-
JANE: Journal/ Author Name EstimatorThis is supported by the Biosemantics Group; created and maintained by Martijn Schuemie. The system would match the information you entered with the journals in PubMed. Please note that this tool doesn't search for journals outside the collection of PubMed.
-
LetPub's Scientific Journal SelectorLetPub is a company providing scholarly publishing and editing services. Their "Scientific Journal Selector" is a free handy tool for authors to identify journals for publication.
-
Manuscript Matcher from Clarivate AnalyticsThis tool is only available to Endnote users. It is similar to other tools of this type, you enter key pieces of information of your article, such as manuscript title, abstract; and then you will receive a suggested list of options to submit your manuscript.
-
Springer Nature Journal FinderUse their journal matching technology to find relevant journals based on your manuscript details. Springer Nature publishes over 3,000 journals, in almost all subject areas.
-
Wiley's Journal FinderWiley Journal Finder suggests Wiley journals that may be relevant for your research, based on your title and abstract. Wiley publishes about 1,859 journals across the disciplines.