Find print and electronic resources, including websites, from the U.S. government
Often overlooked, government documents are a great resource. UH is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and receives many easily accessible documents in electronic format. The print collection, covering a wide variety of departments and Congressional papers, many historic, is in the basement of the M.D. Anderson Library. (The O'Quinn Law Library is also an FDLP.) Note: not all of these resources are in our catalog, so please let me know if you need assistance.
Find forms, medical info, passport info, and much, much more!
- EndNote Web
Put all your research in one place, and get help with citing and writing, too. Accessible through the UH proxy server.
Research, writing, and citation help. See the videos to help you get started. Accessible through the UH proxy server.
Free reference manager and academic social networking site.
A free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources.
There are many government agencies and kinds of government documents. These guides will help you with citations, and you can also ask for help from me, or at the Information Desk.
Follow coverage of the ebola outbreak and government responses to it.
These sites have tons of great links to videos, government info for writers, webinars, apps, and more.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
Digital collections from around the world specializing in botanical and horticultural topics and images.
Links to Congressional information provided by the Library of Congress. Very useful for bill tracking, and other legislative information (previously known as THOMAS.gov).
- Digital Projects Registry
Digitized images, statistics, and more from business, art, geology, and other government information resources.
- Digital Public Library of America
Access millions of digital materials from libraries, archives, and museums.
Search for digitally authenticated government publications submitted by Congress and Federal agencies to the GPO. Browse through and search the many collections now available.
Research and follow pending legislation. This site is very comprehensive and easy to use.
- Hein Online (via O'Quinn Law Library)
Find links to all kinds of government publications, including the Congressional Record Debates of Congress from 1873 (43rd Congress) to 2010 (111th Congress).
- Legislative Explorer
Look at legislative patterns of lawmaking in Congress back to 1981.
- ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides searchable full-text access to current and historical congressional publications including committee prints, hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, and the U.S. Serial Set.
- Social Explorer
Census information from 1790-present, including the American Community Survey (ACS) up to 2006-2008. (UH database.)
- USA.gov/Government Made Easy
A very user-friendly and comprehensive site that connects users to government information on a variety of topics. The site is also available in Spanish.