This is the "Career Exploration" page of the "Career Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Resources  

Last Updated: Dec 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uh.edu/career Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Career Exploration Print Page
  Search: 
 

Occupational Outlook Handbook Online

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you:

  • the training and education needed
  • earnings
  • expected job prospects
  • what workers do on the job
  • working conditions

 

      

    Databases with Career Information

    • Job & Career Accelerator (Need to Register for Login)  
        
      Easy to use online resource for finding the job that's perfect for you! Searching for a job can be difficult. Whether you're looking to find a new job in your current field, or eager to pursue a career in an exciting new industry, Job & Career Accelerator will guide you through every step of the process and help make your career goals a reality. Create your own account.
    • Vocational & Career Collection  
        
      CougarNet Login Required
      Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for trade and industry related periodicals.
     

    Resumes: Books & eBooks

    Cover Art
    Knock 'Em Dead Resumes - Martin Yate
    Call Number: eBook
    ISBN: 9781440536816
    Publication Date: 2012-10-18
    Move your resume to the top of the pile! At a time when companies can draw on resume banks containing millions of documents, you'll need to create a concise and powerful resume if you want to stand out.

    Additional Resume Writing Resources...
    Books located at UH-Downtown & UH-Clear Lake are available by selecting "Request" at the top of the records page. Then select "MD Anderson Service Desk" to have it delivered to the main campus library.

     

    Job Hunting: Books & eBooks

    Cover Art
    This Is How to Get Your Next Job - Andrea Kay; Richard N. Bolles (Foreword by)
    Call Number: eBook
    ISBN: 9780814432211
    Publication Date: 2013-04-17
    Even in a bad economy, companies have job openings they can’t fill. Considering the millions of people who are out of work or unhappily employed, how can that be?What are job seekers doing to turn off employers? And what is it that employers want but aren’t finding? Leading career expert and syndicated columnist Andrea Kay asked employers one simple question: why didn’t you hire the last ten people you interviewed?

    Additional Job Hunting Resources
    Books located at UH-Downtown & UH-Clear Lake are available by selecting "Request" at the top of the records page. Then select "MD Anderson Service Desk" to have it delivered to the main campus library.

     

    Interview Help: Books & eBooks

    Cover Art
    Just the Job! - John Lees
    Call Number: eBook
    ISBN: 9780273772460
    Publication Date: 2013-10-09
    In a tough market, it pays to understand the hidden truths known only to recruitment specialists.

    Additional Interview Help Resources...
    Books located at UH-Downtown & UH-Clear Lake are available by selecting "Request" at the top of the records page. Then select "MD Anderson Service Desk" to have it delivered to the main campus library.

    Business & Technology Librarian

    Profile Image
    Loretta Wallace, MLS
    Contact Info
    University of Houston
    114 University Libraries
    Houston, TX 77204-2000
    713-743-9775

    lwallace3@uh.edu
    Send Email
    My Schedule:
    Monday - Friday 9:00 - 5:00 pm
    Areas of Expertise:
    Information Technology, Investment Banking, Broadcast Media Research, Nonprofit Development Research, Petroleum Industry
     

    © 2013 The University of Houston, 114 University Libraries, Houston, TX 77204-2000 (713) 743-1050

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip