Welcome
Electronic Reference Resources
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Encyclopedia of LifeOnline resource of biodiversity information. Includes life forms, maps, images, and detailed data.
- Access Pharmacy Access to 24 major biomedical reference/textbooks
- Biomedical Engineering Handbook
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Other CRC Handbooks
- Wiley Encyclopedia Biomedical Engineering
- Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation
- StatRefAccess to nearly one hundred reference books in the medical sciences. A few have been listed below.
AFHS Drug Information
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
The Merck Manual
The Review of Natural Products
PLUS... over 90 additional reference books. - PubGetFull-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences for open access journals and journals to which the University of Houston subscribes, including those in PubMed.
Misc. Other Databases
- CQ Global ResearcherProvides students with definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues.
- CQ Public Affairs CollectionStorehouse of current affairs content in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated reference tool. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings
Finding E-Journals
Check out our new JOURNAL OF VISUALIZED EXPERIMENTS (JOVE) and please give us feedback.
To Determine if a particular e-journal is avaliable and then gain access to it-- you should check each link below:
- To Browse UH Library e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse HAM-TMC e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse PubMed Central open access e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse BioMed Central open access e-journals CLICK HERE
- To Browse VERSITAOPEN Open Access e-Journals CLICK HERE
Core Databases
Use these databases to find journal articles on your topic. SciFinder Scholar offers specialized searching options such as searching by chemical structures, formulas, or other physical properties. Web of Science allows you to find what articles have cited a particular aticle of interest.
- ScopusSciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. Includes over 3 million conference papers. Offers sophisticated tools to track and analyze results.
- Academic Search CompleteA good database to start with. It is a multidisciplinary database that includes peer reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers. Many articles are full-text.
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus Core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals, plus full text.
- PubMedPubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This is virtually the Pubmed database re-packaged into a more user friendly interface
- AGRICOLA Especially strong in areas of ecology, nutrition, and the environment.
- SciFinder ScholarThis database also allows you to draw a chemical structure and then find articles about that structure. You can also search by a chemical formula.
- Web of ScienceHighly cited journals in the sciences and engineering. Find who cited who.
- BioMedCentral Open AccessOpen access peer-reviewed journals in biomedical research and biology
- Nature.com
- BioOne Full-texts of high-impact Bioscience research journals published by small societies and other non-for-profit publishers.
- Google Scholar-- Advanced SearchGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources. Check the UH Catalog to see if we own the full-text to any article found.
Other Specialized Databases
WebElements The periodic table on the web-- and much more.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
- Genome Project
- Nucleotide Database
- Protein Clusters
- Protein Sequence Database
- Taxonomy
- BONAP's Taxonomic Data Center (TDC) North America Vascular Flora
Test
test
Research Support Librarian |
Live Chat: Please include email with chat questions!!! |
Bibliography Tools
Supports hundreds of databases and format styles, such as APA, etc. You can easily export your citations from a database directly into RefWorks, and then easily create your bibliography. More informatiion about RefWorks Another good tool that allows you to gather citations from research articles and then easily create a bibliography formated in the latest APA style format.Create your research paper's bibliography quickly and easily......
RefWorks
EndNote Web



Loading...
