The Twelve Caesars--Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus, and Domitian-created an empire which dominated the then known world and influenced it for a millennium. Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely. Suetonius, personal secretary to Emperor Trajan, used the Imperial Archives and eyewitness accounts to paint a portrait of absolute power.
One of the most controversial of all works to survive from ancient Rome, the Augustan History is our main source of information about the Roman emperors from 117 to 284 AD. Written in the late fourth century by an anonymous author, it is an enigmatic combination of truth, invention and humour. This volume contains the first half of the History, and includes biographies of every emperor from Hadrian to Heliogabalus - among them the godlike Marcus Antonius and his grotesquely corrupt son Commodus. The History contains many fictitious (but highly entertaining) anecdotes about the depravity of the emperors, as the author blends historical fact and faked documents to present our most complete - albeit unreliable - account of the later Roman Caesars.
You don't need to specifically log into this database. Just put in your search term(s) and limit your results to "only show content I have access to." Then you can click on the links to the books, pdfs, and other options.
Early English Books Online contains over 100,000 English texts first published in the 15th through 17th centuries. Topical coverage varies widely and full-text searching is available in a minority of titles.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.