RELS 2340 - Introduction to Hinduism
Locating books
Books classified under the subject Hinduism have call numbers beginning with BL. They are found on the 8th floor of the Blue Wing in the M. D. Anderson Library. Please note that not all relevant books will be in the BL section, so check the catalog and call numbers to locate similar books on this topic.
Databases & E-books
These library resources will help you find information about Hinduism in the country you are researching. (Please note: if you are off campus, you will need to log in for full access.)
A Dictionary of Hinduism by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780198610250
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to full text articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video resource available to instructors wishing to use streaming video in their courses. To request access please use the Streaming Media Request form.
Research Tips
- A simple way to start your search in a database or the library catalog is Hinduism AND the specific topic you are interested in.
- Look for options to narrow your results list by source type (journal, book, etc.), language, and so on.
- If you find an article or book that looks promising, check the bibliography for additional sources.
- Use the "record" (the page that provides bibliographic and other information about an article or book) to identify subject headings, additional keywords, etc.
- Use what you learn from each search to improve your next search.