Knovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Subject areas covered include: chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.
This catalog can be searched by common name, CAS number, or catalog number. The entries on each substance include a large amount of physical data and properties. Each compound is listed in all of its commonly used forms with corresponding properties.
This resource uses the Peng-Robinson equation of state to calculate the thermodynamic properties of fluids. The thermodynamic models within CANARY can predict fluid compositions and properties following an adiabatic flash. Given the storage conditions (temperature and pressure) and fluid composition (up to 10 components) of the fluid, CANARY may predict the compositions of the gas, aerosol, and/or liquid phases of the fluid following a release (flash).
This website allows you to search for information on a certain chemical, element, gas, etc. based on its chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula or weight. The results include the component's structure, formula, density, etc., as well as MSDS and related information.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. The Substance/Compound database, where possible, provides links to BioAssay description, literature, references, and assay data points. The BioAssay database also includes links back to the Substance/Compound database.
Reporting experimental, evaluated and predicted data on the physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties of well defined materials including complex mixtures of known compositions and systems of environmental and biochemical interest. The emphasis is on experimental data.
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc.