LGBTQIA+ Resources
Gay and Lesbian Studies Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
- Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting service for research in the following areas of womens' studies: education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism, and historical studies.
Houston and Texas Feminist and Lesbian Newsletters
This material, archived in the department of Special Collections at the M.D. Anderson Library, has been digitized and placed in the UH Digital Library. It is freely accessible to the public. Researchers may download both low- and high-resolution images.
Click on the photograph to access more than 500 newsletters.
Image taken from Pointblank Times, January 1978 - February 1978 - Page 13. January 1978 - February 1978. Special Collections, University of Houston Libraries. University of Houston Digital Library. Web. June 15, 2016. http://digital.lib.uh.edu/collection/feminist/item/4005/show/3985.
Search
General Databases
These databases are large and interdisciplinary. Anyone researching a topic that is on the fringe of gender and sexuality studies or not widely documented may wish to seek for information in any of these databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowEssay & General Literature Index Retrospective features content in a wide array of fields including archaeology, architecture, classical studies, drama, folklore, political science, psychology, religion, women’s studies and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.