This collection is housed in 9 boxes and arranged in 6 series. Annise Parker’s papers document her campaigns for elected office in the City of Houston from: City Council Race-Defeated-1991; City Council Race-Defeated-1995; City Council Race-Won-1997; City Council Race-Won-2001; City Controller Race-Won-2003; and City Controller Race-Won-2005. Material formats within these series range from newspaper clippings and video recordings to correspondence and typescript.
Hazelwitch Productions was established in 1981 by a group of women dedicated to bringing lesbian and feminist performers to the Houston community. The organization was incorporated in April 1983 and, over a fifteen year period, produced around forty events featuring musicians, comedians, and performance artists. In addition to performances, Hazelwitch presented films, workshops, and counseling sessions.
At any one time there were between three and five active members in the corporation, supported by a network of secondary members and volunteers. Key members were Cheryl Wolfarth (the organization's founder), Tori Williams, Pokey Anderson, Cindy Edwards, Katherine Hubbard, Kathy Wilcox, and Gail Eldridge. Remembering Hazelwitch, Kathy Wilcox stressed the cooperative nature of the corporation's management and pointed out that officers were chosen for legal reasons only; decisions were made by consensus in an atmosphere of mutual support and with a strong commitment to feminist ideals.
Although Hazelwitch did not publish a newsletter, events were promoted through the local gay/lesbian press. One notable publicity outlet was "The Wand," the newsletter of the lesbian collective "Womynspace" which had been active since the mid 1980s and has produced the group "Lesbians Over the Age of Fifty," or "L.O.A.F." Pokey Anderson and Cheryl Wolfarth also publicized Hazelwitch on a KPFT radio show which aired until 1994.
Typical venues for productions were churches, restaurants, university auditoriums, and theaters, and Hazelwitch engaged the Houston Area Women's Center and local area bookstores, among others, as outlets for ticket sales. The corporation also enjoyed the sponsorship of organizations such as the University of Houston chapter of N.O.W. and the Montrose Counseling Center. In turn they donated proceedings to groups such as the Aids Foundation of Houston and KPFT Radio.
Despite frugal financial management the 1990s brought difficulties for the corporation due to a decline in ticket sales to Hazelwitch events. Patty Larkin's appearance at the Heinen Theatre in March 1996 was the corporation's last major production, and the process of dissolution was initiated that same year. As lesbian performers have begun to enjoy more mainstream success, their need for the kind of close-knit community support, which Hazelwitch provided, has apparently waned. Nevertheless, it is largely due to the groundbreaking efforts of organizations such as Hazelwitch that this on-going transition to the mainstream is possible.
The Pointblank Times was a "lesbian/feminist publication" first published by Linda Lovell and Allison McKinney in 1975. It "offered a wealth of local information, provided writing venues, promoted lesbian-feminist books and music," according to Rebels, Rubyfruit, and Rhinestones: Queering Space in the Stonewall South. Early issues are housed in the Ann Robinson Collection in Special Collections. Other publications in the Ann Robinson Collection include: Amazon Quarterly, American Women on the Move, Broadside, Checklist, Country Women, Do it NOW, Dyke, Equal Rights Monitor, Focus, It's Time, Lesbian Connection, National NOW Times, NTFG Action Report, and WICCE.
Sears, James T. Rebels, Rubyfruit, and Rhinestones: Queering Space in the Stonewall South. New Brunswick, N.J: Rutgers University Press, 2001.
The WAND is the activities/networking directory of Womynspace. Womynspace, Inc was a non-profit organization designed by and for women. Founded in 1985, it was directed by a collective of five women: Anita Davidson, Lynda Jones, Margo Shelton, Glena Stephenson and Rebecca Tallman. The organization operated under four basic tenets regarding the purpose of its existence. First and foremost, it sought to provide a gathering and healing place for women only. It provided space for artists and relief to women who were exploited as consumers. Lastly, it strived to add dimension to the “womyn’s” community. The organization also worked to establish an alternative living space in a communal setting; a coffeehouse that would provide artistic and gathering space; a shop and gallery space where “womyn” wares would be displayed and sold; a meeting and workshop space; and a forum for disseminating information throughout the womyn’s community.
This small collection is housed in 1 box and consists of one series that documents Norma Lee’s correspondence concerning activist and feminist activities in the mid to late 1970’s. Most notably, the collection contains correspondence from well-known political figures such as Rep. Barbara Jordan. Additionally, you can find correspondence regarding high profile issues and events such the Equal Rights Amendment and the International Women’s Year (IWY) National Women’s Conference, 1977.