JWST/WCL 2380 - Introduction to Jewish Studies
Resources for Dr. Tamber-Rosenau's course.
Books
Books classified under the subject Judaism have call numbers beginning with BM. They are found on the 8th floor of the Blue Wing in the M. D. Anderson Library. Please note that not all relevant books will be in the BM section, for example there are many books on the Holocaust ranging from history, psychology, law, and literature.
Databases
These library resources will help you find information about Judaism in the country you are researching. (Please note: if you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Cougarnet information for full access.)
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a full-text resource covering significant social issues. This database provides pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to web resources.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing to more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new windowRRA provides access to bibliographic records covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination and immigration studies.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to full text articles.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
